We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable family accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Exeter
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great affordable family accomodation”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during october with our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) in a two bedroomed apartment and it was brilliant. Quiet, clean and modern. The pool was great, nice little restaurant downstairs and helpful staff in reception at all times.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe two bedroom apartment which as separately keyed, so effectively the kids had thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    139
    59
    33
    16
See reviews for
114
89
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anglesea, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We recently stayed here and on arrival was greeted by the receptionist(narrelle) who was very helpful and supplied us with all the information we neededie mps location of supermarket etc etc.When we got to room it was well presented clean and tidy.Had a meal in restaurant one evening and couldnt fault the food.The only downside of our stay was on first day reported spa not working in pool and this wasn't fixed for remainder of our stay(4 days).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Brendan a
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cairns Queenslander.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and found our staff most welcoming. Narelle was delighted to read she was able to assist you during your stay with us. The spa integrated within our main swimming pool near reception continues to be fully operational, however, our second swimming pool may appear to have an adjoining spa, however, this is actually a children's wading pool, we believe it was this small pool which your comment was related. I do apologise that we did not make you aware of this fact during your stay. Once again we thank you for staying with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairns Queenslander in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotel in Cairns and found the whole experience very pleasant. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and very helpful in organising tours and giving us advice on things to do. David was particularly helpful and pleasant. He helped us out late one night when my husband needed medical attention. He rang the medical centre to see what the wait was like and then organised a taxi to take us there. I would recommend this hotel. It was clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: a room away from the road and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Maria m,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased the Cairns Queenslander met your expectations. David was also delighted to read your kind words. We do hope you can find the time to visit us again.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I loved this Queenslander accommodation with its tropical atmosphere and lockable flywire doors to let in fresh air from the verandah. My room was clean, comfortable and spacious with good facilities and overhead fans. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant was extremely well run, as was the room service. I had two meals delivered to my room and they were both reasonably priced and delicious. I was sorry to leave this well-situated hotel accessible to all Cairns had to offer. I felt very much at home and it will be my choice next time I visit Cairns.

Room Tip: I liked the view from the balcony and being on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PATRICIAOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Patriciaoz, thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Cairns Queenslander and found our accommodation, service and location to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was clean and comfortable. We ordered our dinners and they were delivered to our room each night. They cook a nice char grilled steak. Totally recommend. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trackker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hi Trackker,

Thank you for your recent review. It is most pleasing to read that you had a comfortable stay and you enjoyed your meals from our char-grill restaurant 'Steak on Lake'.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Cairns Queenslander and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom Orchid appartment for two weeks during Aug 2013. We found the room to be lovely and clean, and comfortable to stay in. We were also impressed that not only was the room quiet, but it stayed nice and cool, something that can be a challenge in Cairns. We would put the ceiling fan on low of a night, which would gently circulate some air around for a comfortable nights sleep. The appartment was well appointed, and being relatively new, the fittings and fixtures were all very modern. We found the location to be good with easy access, although it's around a 15 to 20 minute walk into Cairns inner city, this wasn't a problem for us though as we had a car. However, having said that, it's a great walk into Cairns from here, it's only a block back from the waterfront which is very pleasant to stroll along. The restaurant was a real bonus and we ate there several times. They don't have a huge menu, but between the main menu and the specials, we had plenty of variety. And, the food was great, especially their steaks! The main thing we found with this hotel was that the staff were friendly and helpfull, which really does make all the difference. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cairns Queenslander.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi Darren C, Thank you for recommending our hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

With only a 5 minute taxi ride from the airport its hard to believe that you don't hear any aeroplanes once your checked in.
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, our newly refurbished room was very clean and modern and had all the creature comforts. The bathroom was also very modern with a giant shower head.
The pool and spa area was great to lounge around all day and relax and unwind and cool down.
The restaurant and beverage selection was very reasonably priced and the meals were of excellent quality.
With under a 8 minute taxi ride into Cairns or a 15 minute brisk walk the worst thing about this hotel is leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Deanne G. Your review was greatly appreciated . Thank you for taking the time and hopefully we will see you again.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Property: Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Address: 267 Lake St | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments, is situated within Cairns City close to the Esplanade foreshore. Cairns is your ideal coastal setting for your next holiday, short break or overnight stay. Our private balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable; we offer a wide range of affordable room types including Deluxe & Traditional Queenslander style accommodation, many room types featuring kitchenette dining facilities. Great value menu options combined with excellent fresh local cuisine are served in our casual a'fresco style licensed restaurant 'STEAK on LAKE'; Open Daily for breakfast 6:30am to 10am and dinner from 5:30pm. Evening daily meal specials and extensive a'la carte menu available. Wine lovers must try our wonderful selection of boutique Australian & NZ wines. Your accommodation also features 2 outdoor swimming pools, complimentary WiFi and plenty on-site car-parking. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and the adventure capital of the tropical north. With so much to see and do the fun never stops! Our friendly and helpful reception team ( available 24hrs) can provide invaluable tour advice and will book those tour experiences for you. The Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments is proudly Australian owned and operated, suitable for family, single travelers, couples or small & large group stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing