We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 6 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had the hotel room style, ground floor with 2 adults and 2 kids Dec 28-Jan3. It is a misnomer to call it a hotel really. No bar, no all day restaurant and rooms service only from the dinner menu. The included breakfast is basic (very) and the dinner menu only adequate, you do it once and then look elsewhere. Staff are friendly but they seem understaffed, it took 4 requests to get out sofa bed made-up and then it only happened 6 hours later with the need for kids to sleep. The swimming pool is refreshing, kids loved it. The best thing really was the value and size of room. If you want to walk to town get something a bit closer though as it is along hot walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krab2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

When we arrived we found out they had upgraded our room from standard to deluxe, because we were honeymooners. The room was very big and clean, the choice of breakfast is quite wide, and the staff is extremely helpful. You have a 15 minute walk downtown so it is quieter than some other areas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and overall we enjoyed it. As other reviews point out, the place is outdated but its clean. I love the clean pool and using the free BBQ. The two owners are very helpful with their advice, helping you book tours and work hard to make their guests feel comfortable and have a good holiday experience (the pool always gets cleaned really early in the morning).

just a negative point:
-Location - you'll have to walk a fair distance to get to the shops and the beach (best to rent a car!).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILOVETRAVELLING955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Was there for about a week, all around good, breakfast was a bit shallow though and the wifi is the most expensive one I've experienced but if you're okay with expensive wifi then it's a really good place to stay!

Also pool is smaller then it seems on the pictures and the beach that is close by you can't go to because it's full of crocodiles, go to Palm Cove beach it's a really nice beach!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights. The rooms were big ,clean but need upgrading .The breakfast was very good .You can have a full breakfast help yourself or just cereals and toast .The hotel is a about 20/25 mins away from the centre of town ,its a nice walk but not for everyone .The staff were very helpful in arranging trips out .The price is good for what you get.I would go again to Cairns but I would choose a hotel nearer to the centre to save walking every night back to hotel.I know I could get a taxi but this is extra expense to the holiday.You could pay more for your stay and be closer to the centre instead .Many thanks to the staff on front desk .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spend few days in Cairns Queenslander hotel. just important parts:

1. Value for money great
2. Rooms ( Family room) are big
3. A bit outdated but clean and maintained

Staff is very helpfull and price is very good. The biggest minus is location. If you don't have a car, you need 25 min walk to centre of Cairns. In this heat is crazy.

Pool is nice and clean. There is also SPA in pool
If you travel with a car dont hesitate to book it.

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor with view to back road. The road in morning was somedays quite noise. Local...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late November. We had a booked a Hibiscus room but were offered an upgrade on arrival which we accepted. The front office staff could not have been more helpful, and the breakfasts were very tasty and good value. It is a good 20 minute walk into town, butnif you are prepared for this, this is a great place to stay.
n

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
0.4 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 64 in Cairns
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake St | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £67 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments, is situated within Cairns City close to the Esplanade foreshore. Cairns is your ideal coastal setting for your next holiday, short break or overnight stay. Our private balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable; we offer a wide range of affordable room types including Deluxe & Traditional Queenslander style accommodation, many room types featuring kitchenette dining facilities. Great value menu options combined with excellent fresh local cuisine are served in our casual a'fresco style licensed restaurant 'STEAK on LAKE'; Open Daily for breakfast 6:30am to 10am and dinner from 5:30pm. Evening daily meal specials and extensive a'la carte menu available. Wine lovers must try our wonderful selection of boutique Australian & NZ wines. Your accommodation also features 2 outdoor swimming pools, complimentary WiFi and plenty on-site car-parking. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and the adventure capital of the tropical north. With so much to see and do the fun never stops! Our friendly and helpful reception team ( available 24hrs) can provide invaluable tour advice and will book those tour experiences for you. The Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments is proudly Australian owned and operated, suitable for family, single travelers, couples or small & large group stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing