We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, comfortable and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just stayed for 3 nights and it was lovely. We got upgraded to a 1 bedroom, allowed to check in early and the reception staff were very friendly. Even though we were at the front of the complex, it was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The room was cleaned each day and the rainwater shower was awesome. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here back in July 2013 for 10 nights, reception staff were very helpful and went out of there way to book us many activities. We ate dinner in the restaurant every night and were looked after extremely well with excellent food. The room was clean and well kept but I do advise to keep your doors locked at night as the people above us were broken into one night. We did have a couple of noisy nights with people running around and banging doors but I reported this to reception and it soon ceased. I did want to stay there for our next trip but unfortunately they were not able to accommodate us this year. All in all it is a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms facing Digger street, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for a week and found to be clean and comfortable. Our room is obviously one of the last to be renovated. Location is not too far from cdb and is quiet. Access to hotel so good and staff are quite friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bradk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just returned from a 9 day trip and had a great time staying at the Cairns Queenslander. It was afordable, i block from beach esplanade and we had the lovely clean pool to ourselves on many occasions. Our room was serviced daily ( we did not expect this for the price) with a washing machine and dryer. Sitting on the balcony was perfect and only a $10.00 taxi into city. Car parking for hire car and friendly service always.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for refurbished rooms over looking the pool. Top floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights, we had a large room including a settee and dresser. Large shower room. Shame that there was no free Wifi.
Had breakfast at the hotel on four mornings, good selection of food and the hot food was cooked to order which was a welcome change. Very well run kitchen by a very hard working team.
Hotel very close to the seafront and a pleasant 20 minute stroll into the vibrant city of Cairns.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. If you want five star, go somewhere else and pay for it. This was immaculately clean, adequately furnished and quite comfortable. It is a good 20 minute walk into town but you can clearly see this on any map. If you choose not to walk, you can hire a car, walk about three minutes to the bus stop ($3.90 one way) or jump in a cab for about $10.

The air conditioning and ceiling fans worked well, the shower was hot and the bed was comfy. I was able to arrange tours and was picked up and dropped off at the front door. There was a grocery store, bottle shop and various take away outlets within an easy 3-4 minute walk and the apartments are located one street from the Esplanade. I swam in one of the two pools and it was sparkling clean.

I enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on three occasions and found the food to be more than acceptable, if a little expensive. The convenience was worth the price. The waitress was friendly and after the first night she remembered my drink order.

There were a couple of tiny, little issues. The apartment is under the flight path, but this didn't bother me at all. I had no intentions of cooking meals, but there was no stove/oven- only a small microwave. If you're travelling with your family and want to be able to cook, check this prior to booking.

Other than that, go for it! If I ever return to Cairns I would be more than happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tlb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place was just fine as a place to stay after arriving late at Cairns airport and setting off the next day for Port Douglas. Good price. Close to the airport. Block from the beach and nice walk to downtown Cairns for cafes. Friendly front office.

We were in the back building and there were a few issues -- old and moldy air conditioner in the second bedroom. Second bedroom had a large window onto a walkway with a very bright light that was on all night. Made it difficult to sleep in that room. Mattresses were comfy and seemed new, but the lack of mattress pads made me wonder about how clean the mattresses were.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank lrwilliams84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 63 in Cairns
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#18 of 63 in Cairns
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#21 of 63 in Cairns
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake St | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £60 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments, is situated within Cairns City close to the Esplanade foreshore. Cairns is your ideal coastal setting for your next holiday, short break or overnight stay. Our private balcony rooms are spacious and comfortable; we offer a wide range of affordable room types including Deluxe & Traditional Queenslander style accommodation, many room types featuring kitchenette dining facilities. Great value menu options combined with excellent fresh local cuisine are served in our casual a'fresco style licensed restaurant 'STEAK on LAKE'; Open Daily for breakfast 6:30am to 10am and dinner from 5:30pm. Evening daily meal specials and extensive a'la carte menu available. Wine lovers must try our wonderful selection of boutique Australian & NZ wines. Your accommodation also features 2 outdoor swimming pools, complimentary WiFi and plenty on-site car-parking. Cairns is the gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and the adventure capital of the tropical north. With so much to see and do the fun never stops! Our friendly and helpful reception team ( available 24hrs) can provide invaluable tour advice and will book those tour experiences for you. The Cairns Queenslander Hotel & Apartments is proudly Australian owned and operated, suitable for family, single travelers, couples or small & large group stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing