We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return - cockroaches”
Review of Bohemia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bohemia Resort
Ranked #72 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 21 April 2014

+
Cheap, got a deal on Wotif.com
Family room (6 beds available)
Free wi-fi
A/C
Towels included
Kettle + tea/coffee + sink in room
Allowed late/night check in

-
Cockroaches in room
Far from Cairns central (rented a car)
A/C loud
Limited parking
Shared bathrooms & showers with rooms on the same floor

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelilse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great stay there. Free wifi, free pool table, and swimming pool. Air con in rooms, big kitchen area (missing some cooking tools). Private room was big with tv, fridge and sink. A little laxed on hallway floor cleanliness but the choice of floor tile is to blame. All in all pretty good deal if your willing to walk 20 - 30 mins to town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Lovely customer service the reception and very helpful friendly cleaner) My children loved the pool and slide the facilities her are fantastic.
The rooms were a good size and with awesome air-con.
Close to Cairns city and the lagoon. Thank u for making my family feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I couldn't recommend this place less. It is a 30 minute walk from anything interesting ie central cairns and there are plenty of better hostels closer. The wifi is extortionately priced (20 dollars a day) and the facilities are limited. The rooms were far from clean as were the bathrooms. Dirty and stained floors, rocky beds and poor A/C. Don't stay here, there are far better places in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwt12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Enjoyed my stay here ! Clean, comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The reception staff helped us to book tours and advised us where to go.
Good value for money. 15 minuet walk to Restaurants and amenities

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I booked here with 4 of my friends in a room all together. It was surprisingly comfortable and we enjoyed having our own space including a sink, fridge and sofa as it allowed us to relax in our room, and also store our food to reduce our costs.
My only qualms with the room itself was that the beds were a little 'cheap feeling' with thin mattresses and the noises; the air conditioning was surprisingly loud for the actual amount of cool air it produced (very little) and this, coupled with a weak ceiling fan, made for a stuffy room (the door onto the patio was also broken) and being in a room positioned right next to a shower meant loud hissing noises from pipes at all hours of the night.
Outside the room, the pool was always kept clean and had long hours of operation which was good.
Unfortunately a few things bugged me about the communal areas of the resort; the bar often closed very early (on two or three nights we wanted beers with the meals we had cooked and would have given the bar business if they'd been open at 19:30-8 when we usually ate), but i guess that's their loss. The main annoying thing was that in spite of the sign on the door, the kitchen didn't open at 7am meaning we were never able to make the hot breakfasts we so craved before our day-trips each day we stayed. Also, if you are going to cook your own food in the large, well kept kitchen, make sure you have your own plates, cutlery and knives and a strainer as the only things provided were a few saucepans, pots, and chopping board.
An otherwise enjoyable stay, I think some of the reviewers on here are way too picky. If you're a backpacker, this place is a luxury!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was the worst stay in a hotel I had . Very small room very dirty , old looking . Had two hangers to hang 4 night stay stuff . Could not fit our bags in room without falling over them . The leads from the T.V where thick with dust . Fridge was old and dirty . Went to see someone about our room was this was the best they had ,, the whole place need some TLC . This was a hostle not a 4star hotel . We both got bitten to death

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markysm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#44 of 64 in Cairns
69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 64 in Cairns
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#12 of 82 in Cairns
361 reviews
0.3 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Resort

Address: 231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £28 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bohemia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing