We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great affordable Resort in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bohemia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bohemia Resort
Ranked #74 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great affordable Resort in Cairns”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Great place to stay at a cheap rate. Best bang for your buck. Breakfast included, friendly and helpful staff. In the process of being renovated. Great for all ages. Some rooms have more amenities then others, but it all depends how much you want to pay and going to australia your not going to spend much time in your room anyway. Clean and afforable thats what counts.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanielR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    55
    57
    42
    50
See reviews for
35
81
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The Bohemia Resort - was extremely disappointing and I would hope that you would not recommend it to any other of your customers. Their dedication to customer service was badly lacking and they in fact tried to belittle us in front of other customers when a complaint was made about other patrons (which they admitted to us later they knew was an issue). Their attitude did not convey any sort of interest in customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluewren2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Me and my husband stayed here for a week in july and had a wonderful time- nice and clean (cleaning everyday day) rooms, balcony, good service. Yes, its a bit from the center, around 30 minutes - but we didnt mind. It was a nice walk.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iselink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The old grumpy lady @ the reception is still there! There is nothing in the "family room" for putting away clothes for 4 people so you live out of a suit case. The cleaning lady does not come every day. It depends... There is nothing to hang towels in the bathroom (quite unconfortable). The common kitchen is a disaster: no plates, no cutlery, no glasses, you need to buy them from the desk @high price or go into the city! The swimming pool is ok. Cocktails @the bar are without alcohol, even when they are supposed to be with it! Every time you ask for something it's "I don't know" or "We can't". NOT a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank severine137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Our first experience with bohemia resort was the grumpy and not friendly old woman that was on the reception desk, she is not welcoming and rude! We finally got our room key, and headed to the tiny little room that DID NOT look anything like the room in the online photos, oh well, we weren't planning on spending all the time in our room at least. I have to mention the AWFUL artwork. The room design and decorating is hideous, with funny little polka dot pillows and artwork that they must have bought from a high school art class- nothing matches!

The bathrooms are a disgrace. The shower is not contained so the bathroom floods and the room is so small that you are basically sitting in the shower when you are using the toilet. The blocks of rooms are incredibly noisy with the doors banging everytime they are opened and it echos through. The train tracks are close we awoke to this as well each day.

We were really shocked at how far the resort was from the centre of town as we had been assured that the city was a quick walk away! It was at least a $10 or more taxi ride away so that added up over our stay. We were pretty annoyed. The kitchen isn't really usable as well, with dirty and old pans that are in awful condition- even for backpacker standards.

Honestly, for similar cost, a place in the city centre is much better value. Under the obviously fresh coat of paint this place is a dump.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justaddbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This property is under new ownership and management. All areas have been freshly updated and the rooms are fantastic for the price. We stayed in a Queen Room it was very quiet and the sleep was great as the room had new thick curtains allowing a tremendous sleep. Approx 2km from the Airport and 2km from The city. The pool and spa are magic.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QldJusts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Really weird staff, not friendly. We had a quite big room, but the atmosphere was really cold, with stonefloors and a squeeky bed. The worst part was the location and 45 - 60 min from downtown and there was no regular busses going.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#33 of 64 in Cairns
225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 85 in Cairns
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Garden Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Resort

Property: Bohemia Resort
Address: 231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bohemia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing