We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
165
124
51
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
124
51
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hourawesome barfree shuttlechilled placeprivate roomentertainment every nightsingle roomair contown centreevery eveningcommunal areaswe've stayedminute walkreception areatravel deskthe east coastgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We originally booked for 3 nights a private room but ended up staying over a week. The accommodation is very reasonably priced. Bathrooms and showers were perfect.Clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly. Free shuttle bus to and from town was great . Also a free bus to the airport which many other hostels dont offer.A really laid back place, cheap drinks and clean. Can't ask for too much more than that :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi Lorrs85,

Thankyou for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay !! We find a lot of people book for a short time and then extend as they have so much fun here.

It is good to hear that everything was clean and tidy for you. I shall pass on the news to our cleaning staff.

All the best

The Calypso Crew...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here for the best part of a week and was sad to leave. There was a courtesy bus pick up from the airport on arrival and the “courtesy” lifts continued all week! The bus runs into town once every hour collecting and dropping off but the staff also gave me lifts to interviews in the town.

Dave, one of the staff, was able to help me look for work using his knowledge and contacts and Vee was amazing with her knowledge of other accommodation and tours etc.

The showers and toilets were probably the worst at that point in my travels as so many people were using them constantly but the pros far outway this.

The bar had two happy hours per day but drinks were reasonably priced anyway for backpackers. If you did’nt want to leave the hostel you can wile away the days there by the pool or using the internet. NOTE – If you have your own computer you may be able to log onto the Netgear system without buying access. I did this all week!!

The staff make this a very hard place to leave!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi Terri,

Thank you for your review!!

We are glad you were able to utilize our shuttle service. It is a nice walk down the Esplanade into town but everybody loves the bus!

As you said, toilets and showers are used by a lot of people but we do have staff in them twice daily, and they do their best to keep them up to standard.

I am glad I could help with you looking for work and that you had a good time here at Calypso.

We hope you can make it back to stay with us again !

All the best,

Dave & The Calypso Crew...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hostel is the worst ever!! It ruined our whole stay in Cairns!! The bathrooms over floated with poop all over. Then u had to use 3 showers for the whole building on the other side. The bathrooms were disgusting!! The kitchen upstairs had cockroaches walking on the counters! The staff was okay. Only angela was great but at night the guy was to busy smoking and drinking to help us with something! The girl was to busy on facebook to help us work the oven. Just crappy. Its a bit further from the town. I wont recommend this hostel to anyone! There are nicer hostels more near town.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Owner at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hi,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Calypso. We had a major problem with the underground sewerage while you were here and unfortunately it was a problem that could not be fixed until Monday. I apologise for the unsatisfactory conditions and that more was not done to make your stay here better.
We have permanent cleaners in order to keep our bathrooms to the highest standards so we are sorry to hear that they were not clean.
I am sorry about the staff who were not very helpful to you and I can assure you this will not be happening again as we usually get good feedback about our staff. This is not acceptable and the staff in question have been spoken too and reprimanded.
We are a bit further from town than some hostels which is why we have a free shuttle bus to and from town approximately every hour.
I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here on the first destination in our east coast trip. Chose to stay in a double room, room was immaculate, right by the pool so was noisey during the night at times but didn't bother us! Staff were all very friendly and willing to help at all times. Would highly reccomend this hostel to other travelers!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoriarhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Hi Victoria,

It is great to hear that we could provide you with a good first experience for your trip down the East Coast. Hopefully you enjoy the rest of the Coast as you did here.

Thank you for your review and make sure you stop in again at some point!!

All the Best

The Calypso Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

One of the best hostels I've been to in all my travels! It feels like being right in the rainforest.. The rooms are so nice & clean, the bar is really well priced, the staff are amazing & the vibe is awesome!
If you're a couple spend the extra few dollars for a private room.. They are just perfect!
Make sure you book your travel at Reception as they have awesome deals and you can even score money to spend at the bar.
Definitely recommend Calypso to anyone!

Room Tip: Private room for couples!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineGray111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad F, Manager at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Hi Nadine,

We are pleased that you had a great stay with us at Calypso! We hope to see you again sometime!

Big Love from the Calypso Team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews