We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravella Backpackers
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We visited a few hostels whilst in Cairns and came across the Caravella. The reception staff were really friendly...especially good old Gloria and very helpful. We had booked a twin room for 4 nights - one of which was a double bed!! The room was lovely and clean, spacious, over looked the beach and came with that all important air con!! They have 2 well equipped kitchens and they were both always clean. The hostel at night wasn't loud and was only a short walk into town which was perfect.I really felt comfortable at the Caravella...one of my fave hostels whilst travelling in Oz!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    236
    89
    16
    8
See reviews for
13
184
119
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

we returned a second time to stay at Caravella as our first experience was so great. reception staff are very helpful and pleasant. kitchen and social areas very spacious. cleaners done a superb job and were always happy and smiling and seemed like they genuinely enjoyed their job. it would be so great if every hostel could have the same standards as Caravella!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeceandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed three nights at Caravellas and it was good value. The room was really big, the pool clean and the two kitchens were huge! Good place to meet other travellers, a bit far from the centre but there is a free shuttlebus. Got a ticket for a free meal everynight and that helped our budget a lot! The little, old Gloria does her best to sell tours, although we didn`t book through her. She is a bit weird and can be pushy, but she`s nice and has some good advice, just take the time to listen..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Caravella Backpackers in a private room and we had a fantastic time.
The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Even the communal bathrooms and kitchens were absolutely spotless.
We also found the staff to be most helpful and polite and they really wnt out of their way to make sure we had a great time

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tueddel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prodromi, cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Free pickup from airport, Free use of a towel, Free Meal every night and free transport to the woolshed to get our free meal.......WKD

This place is in a good spot 20 mins walk to the reef terminal, I stayed in a 4 bed female only dorm with its own bathroom which was great. the rooms were basic but had a fridge. the doors locked behind u so nobody without a key could enter, Outside also had a sercurity gate to stop non residents entering.

I had a great 3 days here, meeting some fab friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcalvin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My partner and me stayed 2(on separate weeks) night at this hostel. When we arrived we asked to see the dorm room as we weren't sure whether we wanted to stay there. The young lady at the desk told us that wouldn't be possible because she wanted to go out and finish her shift!!! Totally unprofessional! The room was basic (but what would you expect for the price ?).The bed bunks look like hospital beds and there are no ladders to access the top bed !
On our second stay there we have been given another dorm which was far from clean even though no one was in there and the cleaning ladies were suppose to have finished their shift !
The ladies are horrible. There is no lock on the door and the showers don't smell right!!!
On the other hand the common area is really nice and you get to meet travelers. There is also a swimming pool which can come handy considering the heat !!! And a free supper coupon is given which is quiet cool.
I wouldn't stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anyas45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I had an absolutley great time at Caravella's!!! Its nice and small so you meet lots of people, cheap, you get a free supper everynight (THAT WAS HUGE)!! The kitchen is always clean, the pool was awsome. I stayed in a 12 room dorm and we had 2 bathrooms in the dorm room, which was great! The staff are SUPER helpful!! Me and my friend had a great time there!! I would recommend this to any backpacker!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Property: Caravella Backpackers
Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing