We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caravella Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
147
245
93
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
245
93
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomair confree wififree shuttle from the airportswimming poolcommunal areasown bathroomwe stayed in a double roomminute walklaundry facilitiessmall fridgebars and restaurantsnice poolfantastic hostelkitchen areaceiling fanrecommend staying here
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in a twin room for 4 nights. From the arrival to the departure we felt well cared for. The twin room had a good size and more important the mattress was comfy. The room spotless and we had our own clean fridge.The gave us every day fresh towels as we had only carry on luggage. The aircon worked fine and the shared bathroom was kept clean. Water was hot, even a huge number of people were using the showers. They have two big kitchen. The pool has a nice size and also this area is kept clean. Compared to many other hostels,this is the cleanest I have been to. The hostel is quiet and you get sleep during the night. The location is great- 10 min walk to the centre and a public bus station is straight behind the hostel- great for trinity beach visits. Overall, i would recommend this hostel to young and old. Great value for money. The only little thing I missed- free sugar/salt/ pepper supply for short term visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeNaNa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at Caravella for 6 nights at the end of September into October. First off let me say the staff really make this place, they were pleasant, attentive and extremely helpful.

It's budget so don't expect the Ritz, but we had a private room it was clean and tidy, had its own fridge and a nice bathroom/shower room.

And of course the location - it's a bit away from the strip but still right on the esplanade. Literally 30 seconds walk sees you right on the sea's edge, and about ten minutes right into the hubbub of Cairns day and nightlife. So if you want to get out it's right there but with the quiet that let's you sleep well at night.

Would definitely stay there again if I was back in the Cairns area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was a decent place to stay - it was cheap which is why we chose it.
We stayed in a mixed dorm

Pros:
The staff were all really nice
The other backpackers there were all a nice bunch too
Our dorm had a bathroom and there were also public bathrooms for anyone to use, so you never really had to wait for the bathroom
It was a very good price as we had a voucher coupon to get a couple of dollars off

Cons:
Our room had a funny smell, I think this was because one of the guys in the dorm never left the room, and the curtain and window were always shut.
As there was no storage in the kitchens all 6 of us had to share the mini fridge. One person in our dorm left dirty dishes in the room for days and they smelt
The distance to Caravella's from the Greyhound stop wasn't far to walk but it feels pretty far when you have a heavy backpack!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Getting a room with your own bathroom right on the Esplanade for 65 dollars was not a bad deal. The room although was small with a noisy aircon and the only window was in the bathroom. It was no problem for us. After getting back from a dive trip, we got a lot bigger and nicer room. So if you're lucky...

Staff was okay. After we made a mistake regarding the openingtimes of the luggage storage, and some confusion with the onsite staff, the receptioniste had to get back around 9.30pm. She gave us a bad attitude, which made us feel very unconfortable. But was friendly when we saw hear again 2 days later.

If you use the mealtickets for the woolshed: if you upgrade your meal and have something to drink, you'll pay around 12 dollars and have a good meal. Or you can use the kitchen, but the utensils are very hostel-like... (old, broken, wet towels, no dishwasher liquid left late in the evening).

All in all, we did have a good time here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duyntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Really clean, relaxed hostel with good facilities. The staff are lovely and the owner even came round to ask us if we were enjoying ourselves and if there was anything he could improve - the only hostel I stayed in to do this! Theres a curfew at 11pm so its perfect for people who actually want to get some sleep! Amazing swimming pool and free wifi - would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Cairns!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews