We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravella Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic, but clean!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here two nights with two friends.
Bedroom was clean, bathrooms too.
We had a quite a bit of noise throughout the 2nd night, but the staff seemed keen to stop this from happening again.

Helpful reception.
Airport pick up and drop off is right outside the doors.
Close to the centre of town/pubs/markets/shops.

Good place overall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    230
    86
    15
    8
See reviews for
13
180
114
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for one night recently in a double en-suite room. Very clean room. Arrived late and called the shuttle bus which
we had booked before arrival. Very friendly driver, only 10 mins from airport. Great after hours instructions to get into the hostel - security top notch! Not too far from shops. Very friendly reception staff in the morning, we were able to store our bags while we went to collect our camper. Facilities here look great but we didnt have the need to use them. Would definately recommend this backpackers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yummymummyWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great location right on the waterfront. Extremely clean and very well equipped hostel. Would recommend to anybody travelling to cairns on a budget. 5 minutes to all the entertainment (bars restaurants and boats) but is still very quiet at night. Wonderful. Can't fault it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at Caravella Backpackers for a few nights, in a ensuite - including two single beds and bathroom - enough for two people. Free bus transfer from airport to hostel and only pay a small fee when returning to airport. Hostel is clean, additional blankets, with outdoor swimming pool and use yourself kitchen. No breakfast is provided however the hostel offers a fantastic dinner meal deal for a bargain price!! There is a curfew as 11pm however noise was left to a minimum most nights. Friendly staff, excellent service, always willing to provide assistance and advice. Great location too, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach!

Room Tip: Ensuite are average size, include beds, bathroom, fridge, A/C and private balcony front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulzM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at Caravella on either end of a live-aboard diving trip. The first three nights I was in a 4-bed female dorm (room 19). It was pretty close to the kitchens and outdoor area and so was fairly noisy, but tidy and had its own bathroom. The curfew is posted as 11:00 pm but they don't enforce it too strictly until around 11:30. On the back end, I was up in room 36, which was a 4 bed again but didn't have a private bathroom. However, it was much quieter and I would happily stay again in that room.
The front desk staff is really helpful and friendly, and the airport pickup is free on the way in (though $12 on the way out).
The location is maybe a 5 minute walk off the main start of the Esplanade, and they have a deal with a local bar where you can get dinner & a half-pint for just $6.50 every night!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and away from the main eating area are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Thank you to all the friendly staff at Caravella Back packers whom were of excellent service and welcoming us into their communal living facility. The Manager was always greeting us and assisted us with any questions we had. The rooms were very clean and comfortable providing us daily with fresh towels and extra blankets as requested. Where else could we have met such lovely people from all over the world sharing their experiences and making our stay more enjoyable. A fun and rewarding stay. Helen and Carol

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_CM9613DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hostel was great, and the people working at the hostel was really helpful. After the first night I asked the reception to put some extra blankets on our madras, because it was a pit uncomfortable, and instead of just giving us a few blankets they changed the entire madras, which was great service. The hostel has a nice vibe and atmosphere, and was clean with good kitchens and toilets.

Thanks Caravella for a nice stay in Cairns, you have a hostel that is highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.2 mi away
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Property: Caravella Backpackers
Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing