We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Best Hostel of our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caravella Backpackers
Bristol
1 review
“Great Location - Best Hostel of our Trip”
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed here for a few nights way back in 2006 but i remember it well as it was the best place we stayed on our whole trip! We had a double room, clean and spacious and no sign of cockroaches unlike everywhere else we stayed!!! You are literally across the road from the main strip along the waterfront near all the bars and places to eat. 2 minutes walk from the Mall and the public outdoor swimming pool which was great (and free!) We had no problems with noise but i suppose its just luck of who is staying there at the same time and whether you're in a dorm or not. I would definately rate this place - give it a go!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wibblebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    234
    86
    16
    8
See reviews for
13
182
115
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

I was very pleased that I got a free upgrade to a private room on arrival. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, providing an excellent tour booking service. It's only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Cairns but far enough away to ensure you don't get woken up by loud music at night. There's a nice pool, decent sized kitchen and the room and bathrooms were clean. What more could you ask from budget accomodation?

  • Liked — The fact that it was not too far from the centre of town but quiet at night.
  • Disliked — The laundry needs a bit of an upgrade.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sharonb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

This hostel is ok, it is very dated in decor and most other things - washers, kitchens, bathrooms etc but it has central, value for money and does have a pool which is much needed in the summer months.

It is right on the esplanade and only 10-15 mins walk to the shops and bars, we stayed in a double room which was ok, could do with a serious paint though but it did the job. Location is perfect.

They offer a tour booking facility which is great and they give a 5% discount and given the price in Oz this can be quite a bit. They also give you a coupon for a free meal each night in a local pub which is good. You can upgrade to a different meal and pay the difference too so great value all round.

The internet is VERY expensive here though.

Overall it was ok

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — it looks old and shabby
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Helen076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Caravella Backpackers
http://www.caravella.com.au/
149 Esplanade, Cairns
Ph: +61 7 40512431
Email: info@caravella.com.au
$75 double room with ensuite

We were in a double ensuite room in room number 59. At the airport you give them a call and the palm sun Shuttle bus will pick you up free of charge and take you there; this was a nice start… Check in was easy, staff were lovely, was impressed with the service…
The room was a basic room, with a clean bathroom… not much to report on this, a fridge and chest of drawers were the extent of luxury, luckily we brought the laptop juiced with TV and films to keep us entertained when we were in the room… The aircon was surprisingly good, even if a little noisy, and the fan over the bed was a lifesaver!
Didn’t make much use of the other facilities, such as broadband $2 for 15 minutes and wifi for $1 for 15 minutes, or the kitchen or common area, which were always in good use… The pool area on the other hand was greatness! A good way to get your zing back through the hot afternoons, only about 8 deck chairs but one always became available as we approached… pool itself was deep and a lovely temperature… impressive in general, just what we needed..
A 5 to 10 minute walk to the city, but less to the Aquarius where my family lives, so it was perfect for us... lovely walk by the water, and if you go the other way for an early morning pounding of the pavement you will get lots of good mornings from the other locals…

  • Liked — location, air con, pool
  • Disliked — very basic room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank burna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

They picked me up from the airport and let me check in quickly and they actually drove me to the pier right away (which is usually walkable but my boat was leaving for Green Island soon). They gave me good advice and were friendly. I booked a single room and it was clean and comfortable. I had no problems waiting for the shower or toilet. The bathrooms were clean and the water was hot. The walls are a bit thin but I had respectful neighbors thank God. It is centrally located.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WVTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU LIKE SLEEPING OR PLAN ON GETTING ANY SLEEP AT ALL!!!!

Positives: Its in a great location just 2 minutes from the main strip, restaurants etc. Its well priced (though be warned about booking on hostel websites as they frequently take bookings when the place is full and youre turned away on arrival - better to contact them directly). A free dinner is included in a local bar. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room had a nice ensuite bathroom between just 4 of us.

Negatives: There are no doors (except the actual bedroom doors) separating the kitchens and common areas from the bedrooms. The design of the hostel means that the noise of any people sitting up late talking carries everywhere. The 11pm quiet time is totally ignored/not enforced and there were still people up partying and shouting til after 4am. Then the kitchen cleaning crew move in and crash and clatter round the kitchen for another hour or so. Internet is also very expensive and can be found for a quarter the price 5 minutes down the road.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Stayed here for four nights and it was an OK experience. Reception is always busy and the staff is a little flighty. The first night I booked a female dorm and ended up sharing a double with somebody because they had overbooked (not complaining). I changed my reservation to a single for the remaining three days. The single was nice (double bed, air con, fridge) and clean, though pricey (45 Aud). The bathroom to person ratio is high and may result in long waits if you don't plan it right. It is a loud hostel but my room was located away from the main courtyard area. And, after 11pm no noise is allowed. They get on a loudspeaker to remind you of the fact. All in all it was pretty decent.

It is a 10-15 minute walk from the central area.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FLgirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 mi away
Mantra Esplanade Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Property: Caravella Backpackers
Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing