We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Dilapidated, Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravella Backpackers
Midwest
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dirty, Dilapidated, Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I don't know what we were thinking when we booked with this hotel, it's right there in the name, "Caravella BACKPACKERS." However, I have stayed at some backpackers in the past where if you get a private room it can be quite nice. Needless to say that is not the case with this place. This hotel was extremely run down, the bed was disgusting, the air con made me SICK, and I don't even think we had clean sheets, and we certainly weren't provided towels. The room was depressing, no radio or TV (again different from other hostels I've stayed at when having a private room). The location was not fantastic, after a long day at the reef, the last thing I want to have to do is walk out of the way to go to dinner.

The bright spot in our entire experience at Caravella was the guy at reception in the mornings. He was very friendly and helpful for us when trying to decide what to do while in Cairns. He even spent some time with me to figure out the next time I go back to the reef, knowing full well I wouldn't be booking it through him.

I can see that if you were truly a backpacker this place would be fine. There is a pretty nice pool, and a large kitchen area to make your own food. It was simply not for me, and I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0rldFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    236
    89
    16
    8
See reviews for
13
184
119
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

This hostel is nothing like what is described on their website. The 3 rooms I sampled were not air-conditioned as described and were certainly not newly redecorated as they claim. The mattresses are old and dirty and the place generally feels unclean and dilapidated. The website also states that bathrooms are clean and modern. They are not modern and offer no privacy at all.

The staff are also inefficient and reception is far too busy and overcrowded. If you want someone clean and nearer to the centre of town stay at the Northern Greenhouse. This has smaller 6 man dorms, each with its own bathroom. The rooms are also cleaned thoroughly and it is much closer to the town centre. All for only a couple of dollars a night more.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasHoldsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed here in June 2009 and enjoyed it. People come to Cairns for the adventure OUTSIDE the town. The town itself is not an attraction. I stayed at the Caravella on either side of my Barrier Reef Diving trip. It's some way outside the main strip, shops and bars, but to be honest you're not missing much. Caravella has its own vibe of Backpacker-Cool and if you make friendly with fellow-residents you'll find yourself socializing around the pool area deep into the night! (Make sure you pick up your daily voucher for the free spag-bol at the Shed)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelantjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Clean and Spacious rooms which had fridge and shower between the 4 people in room
Staff very friendly and helpful on advising and planning trips
Would be first chioce next time i go to cairns

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIBSON172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Thie place was great - the staff are so helpful, brilliant for organising trips and really look after you - i had a room on my own with fridge and air con - very no frills just what you need because you are never in your room when your in cairns! you get a voucher for the woolshed bar every day for your dinner and for a couple of quid you can upgrade to anything on the menu so me and my friends were there every night. lorraine is brilliant and the scottish guy who owns it - i really loved it and wished i didnt have to leave for boring leeds - thouroughly recomend it!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kez76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I stayed @ Caravella Backpackers for 4 nights and really enjoyed my stay. I was in a 4 bed dorm with my friends. We had a fridge, clean bedding and a decent aircon system (when we didn't forget to turn it on).
The owners are really welcoming and give great advice on activities and places to see in Cairns.
A benefit of staying at this hostel, was that each night you stayed, you received a voucher for a free evening meal at the wool shed in town. They give you salty meals so that you'll buy drinks, but they're really quite good.

I spent most of my time when i was at the hostel by the pool sunbathing and splashing around. It's a really great atmosphere with the radio playing and people in both kitchens cooking.

A very clean, friendly environment for any backpacker!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed here for a few nights way back in 2006 but i remember it well as it was the best place we stayed on our whole trip! We had a double room, clean and spacious and no sign of cockroaches unlike everywhere else we stayed!!! You are literally across the road from the main strip along the waterfront near all the bars and places to eat. 2 minutes walk from the Mall and the public outdoor swimming pool which was great (and free!) We had no problems with noise but i suppose its just luck of who is staying there at the same time and whether you're in a dorm or not. I would definately rate this place - give it a go!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wibblebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.5 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Property: Caravella Backpackers
Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing