We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in Cairns.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hostel in Cairns.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've stayed at nearly every hostel in Cairns and Castaways in by far the best.
Although it is a bit of a walk from the city centre (15-20 minutes) the staff offer a free shuttle bus the leaves frequently and sometimes by request. During the day the friendly staff often organise small trips to the beach or to local swimming holes which really allows us backpackers to see the local attractions that we normally wouldn't.
The hostel is clean and tidy but still has that homey feel to it. Dorms are 3, 4, 5 beds and no bunks! Reception also organises local tourist activities like reef tours, Daintree day tours, and more.
Guests are encouraged to socialise, and Castaways is one of the most social hostels in Cairns. There is no curfew at nights and everyone often gathers on the back deck for drinks and dinner. Those guests that like to get to bed early are respected and frivolities usually moved to the front by the pool after 10pm.
Kitchen facilities are great and there are free cooking utensils as well as cutlery.
Price includes free wi-fi and a fridge in your room.

Absolutely loved staying here and getting to know everyone. See you all again soon, I'm sure (:

Room Tip: All rooms are great, although if you prefer an early night or a quiet environment I suggest getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    63
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
80
84
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I booked a room for to nights and in the end I stayed 1 week.

A small hostel with wonderful, friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, big tour board and nice guests also.

Was stuck here because of the cyclone and it could be no better place. There is not much to do in cairns but in this hostel you'll always find something.
You will always feel like part of the "family" although when you travelling alone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My boyfriend and I are currently staying in this hostel at the moment. We feel it is an ideal place for backpackers on a budget as its not too expensive. It is a small family run business. It is very clean and friendly. The only issue with this hostel is its location. It is not in the centre of Cairns however the hostel runs a shuttle bus about 8 times a day to and from the centre. Otherwise it is a 20 minute walk which isnt too bad.

The staff in the hostel are great at the moment there is Callum, Natalie, Amelia, Izzy, Ryan and some others I have yet to meet. These guys go out their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Leslie who is the manager is also very nice and regularly comes to the hostel to ensure its clean and tidy and often helps out with the cleaning.

I would recommend this hostel to backpackers especially if you intend working. Throughout the week the hostel is very quiet and peaceful. At the weekend it is a bit more lively but that only lasts until about 9.30 once everyone leaves to go partying.

To some up this hostel is small, clean, friendly and affordable. It would suit anybody and any foreigner as it has a range of guests from Scottish, French, English, Irish, Canadian, America, Finnish, etc.

Room Tip: I have been in 3 different rooms here and they were all a good size and come with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

It is a family-run hostel with very friendly staff and clean rooms. I stayed here for two nights and i enjoyed it very much. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen has everything you need. I can definetely recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oniscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Castaways is close enough to town to go out at night and far enough that you don't have to hear any drunken passers by.

It's a very social hostel and all the staff are backpackers too which I think helps the social dynamic as well as the travel and tour advice they give.

The staff ended up good friends who got us good deals on trips like wake boarding, skydiving and bungee jumping, so who could argue with that?

The owner is working hard to make sure all the standards of the hostel are kept and is always polite in doing so!

To sum it up, it's comfortable, clean (thanks to ryan and collin, the best cleaners ;) ), good internet, good kitchen, great staff and facilities. Only negative would be that I ended up staying there much, much, much longer than planned.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamPalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hostel for about one week and I think it was the perfect hostel to stay in! No bunk beds which is such a good thing.
You don't feel in this kind of "backpackers industry"! The team of the hostel is really nice and helpful ! (Do not hesitate to book your tour with them!) :-)
Also perfect to meet new friends!
You can be worried about the distance from the city centre but actually you can easily walk up to there or simply take the free shuttle...
To resume : quiet but not dead (every night you can join the team to go out), very friendly, clean!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlowWw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I first checked in here end of December last year for 6 nights but had to leave almost immediately after getting farmwork offered on the first day of my stay. The owner was kind enough to let me use the unused nights when I liked and I have just used 4 of them two months later.

I needed a break from my farmwork and got exactly that in this nice, small, friendly hostel which has a family vibe to it, with very clean facilities and rooms, helpful staff and only a short walk from the centre of town

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.9 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.8 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.3 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#9 of 84 in Cairns
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Property: Castaways Backpackers
Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing