We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value for money in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Backpackers
Ranked #15 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great value for money in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed there for one night only after arriving in Cairns. They are on the main road. I have booked a twin room with a shared bathroom and on an arrival they upgraded us to the room with a bathroom. The room was big with its own TV and a fridge (what a great idea). The bathroom was also big, very clean and it had liquid soap in it. They also provided towels. The whole place is very quiet as for a backpacker. There was free tea and coffee in the kitchen. The kitchen was small, it had only one sink, but we used it only for hot drinks so it didn't bother us. We haven't tried the pool so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    62
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
6
78
83
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived a day late (due to plane cancellation), but the staff kindly waived the booking fee for us which was greatly appreciated. The double room (no ensuite) was spotlessly clean and well kept. Use of a private fridge was a great feature. The staff seemed very relaxed and happy to help us out when prompted and clearly know their stuff. The kitchen is well equipped as well, which is useful when you're traveling on a budget and just want to cook for yourself.

Room Tip: The double room with no bathroom is great value for money for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've been staying at hostels in Cairns for the last 6 weeks. I spent 7 nights at castaways hostel and found the staff to be so welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hostel is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town so you are able to enjoy your stay in cairns and cruise into town with everyone from your hostel if you want a night out when you want to party without having to be stuck right in the middle of chaos all day every day. Castaways hostel is tropical small family run hostel. There's plenty of places to sit in and around the place. They have a pool out front. Verandas with table and chairs so you can always sit and eat out side and the common areas are a cozy tv room with millions of dvds and board games. At night everyone hangs out together on the main veranda. Music and beers.. games. its a great way to meet people which I found a bit harder to do in the really big party hostels. I still met people but castaways was like family. The rooms and bathroom and kitchen were all clean. Laundry facility's. Free wifi. and always tea and coffee. They also have a free shuttle bus that runs in and out of town all day so if you don't feel like walking. Castaways makes you feel really welcome. Its easy to stay here its clean its surrounded by plants and flowers. Its right next to a super market and bottle shop and a good bakery and everyone that stays here is someone you like. I can't say enough good things about this hostel. Thanks for having me castaways. I really enjoyed my time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjuliam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Leslie Made the place welcome, staff at the time Louise Odell and rob Claire and Roxy were awesome lots of fun very helpful good film nights wine and cheese nights! Pub crawls plenty of activities to do!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Friendly staff who gave good advices for the visits and helped us to find the best prices. The private rooms are spacious and confortable. Both rooms and kitchen were clean. We spent a nice stay with our 4 year old son.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sébastien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hello there, that's Neil from Norwich ere. Ruddy lovely little hostel this is! Stayed ere for roughly 3 weeks! The staff were tremendous and them rooms were bloody bootiful! As for that shuttle, I avent seen nothing like it! If you like a chilled out hostel with a great vibe then I suggest you come see these! Let's be Avin ya!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Spent just over 2 weeks here.. Nice friendly little hostel where all the staff were fantastic and very welcoming. Free shuttle was a nice touch and they did their best to find us the cheapest rates with trips and rental cars. Hoping to come back again sometime later this year!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chris22safc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.1 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Property: Castaways Backpackers
Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing