We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We are an italian couple and we slept just one night in the hostel....amazing...quiet, lovely staff and bedrooms, nice kitchen (2), the best hostel we've ever been...definitely!!!and the price is good for the hostel quality!!!!:)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silviaingiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

only one amazing night ? next time you'll have to stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Very clean and spacious rooms, nice decor and the staff were EXTREMELY kind and helpful! I had a late flight arrival from Sydney and one of the staff arranged for my pick-up from the airport and left easy-to-follow instructions for how to get in and get my key. The next morning, I realized I needed transportation right as reception was about to close but they did not make me feel like I was an inconvenience and gladly gave me a ride. I felt very taken care of and had a great rest after my flight. I will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thanks Lauren glad the staff where taking care of you , see you again sometime safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great hostel, with lovely and cozy interior and comfortable facilities. Staff is really helpful, you can book all your trips in the hostel. They have fun stuff to do in the evenings like BBQ night, fire shows etc. Very convenient if you are coming with a train, since the hostel is opposite the train station, and it takes only 10 min walk to other interesting spots in the city. Worth staying for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

We do have EXTREMELY nice staff and I'm glad they were able to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Rooms were very clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. There are plenty of toilets and bathrooms to accommodate everyone. Staff were always pleasent and friendly. There are a few seperate kitchens so plenty of space for everyone and to store your food although there wasn't an oven. The hostel is about a 10 minute walk to the esplanade but lots of restaurants and shops between. Overall very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks Amelia glad you liked the comfy beds ,we do have an oven in the second and much larger kitchen up stairs .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nice place just a short walk from the centre and the lagoon. Nice, friendly staff who are happy to advise on what to do and excursions and things. Rooms are nice and clean. A fridge and fan in the double room. Bathrooms only shared between a small number of rooms and good themed nights. Would definitely return.

Only down side - $5 shuttle from airport even if you book in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

24 Dollars per person per night in 3 Share dorm

really great hostel, friendly staff, free shuttle to Greyhound Terminal,
great specials (10 dollar pizza all you can eat, movie nights on huge beamer)

room was clean, enough space, no private bathrooms but clean bathrooms and a lot of them,
cheap internet, beds are comfortable, kitchen (there are 2 kitchens) are small, but ok and clean

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank CarniGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Our 6 bed dorms are 24 Dollars per person per night but if these get filled up first we up grade people to 3 share rooms at no extra cost,
the shuttle to Greyhound Terminal is free for everyone too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hostel is clean and offers enough seperate bathrooms, no group showers etc.
The outdoor area is comfortable and the entertainment program is nice. The staff helps wherever it can. We had two different rooms during our stay and the quality of both was very different. The first room was little to small with almost no storage room for the luggage. The second room was perfect.
We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: room 15 very good\ room 16 not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soeren_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Cairns
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £15 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel a small backpackers hostel set between 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing