We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, relaxed atmosphere, really friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We used this place as a base for our 10 day trip in Queensland, as we were flying in to and out of the airport and we're so glad we did. We booked virtually all our activities/tours through the hostel which made coming back and leaving to go on short trips a lot easier.

The hostel's in a good location, behind the mall that sits between it and the city centre, just a 15 minute walk to Esplanade. The rooms and facilities are cleaned fairly regularly and the staff are all friendly and helpful, especially Chris.

There's a good communal area, no 2 rooms are the same, there are multiple kitchens with everything you'd need and there are themed nights, (BBQ, pizza, movies) which help to give this place it's atmosphere. There's nearly always an offer on with a local bar or restaurant (including a free meal at the Woolshed) and there's loads of information about different tours dotted around the buildings.

If we had one gripe, it's that wifi is chargeable, but this seems to be fairly standard, and there aren't many bins! But these are really minor gripes! 

Would highly recommend, and would come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FizandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Front Office Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Glad we could help you in planning your 10 day trip in Queensland as a local Travel agent we can book virtually any tour in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Dreamtime hostel, was one of the best hostels, i have been in australia. i am travelled one year all over Australia. Dreamtimes is clean and very lovely. The sheets are pink, I like that and the room get cleaned everyday. All the staff is so lovely, always helping and understanding and always smileing, you can tell they have fun at work. The have a lot of activities, like movies night, bbq night or pizza night, that’s always nice.

Room Tip: the rooms next to the kitchen are not good, because its too loud in the morning, and downstairs to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinag90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Front Office Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi Kristina, thanks for your review, really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Have a great onwards trip and safe travels, Em

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Was our first time in Australia, all the staff were very helpful throughout our stay and if there was anything we needed they were there to help (from booking tours, to getting around the city and finding cheap but fun things to do). The hostel was very clean and had a very homely feel about it. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who has never been to Cairns before (since they are there to help enhance your experience) and also to anyone who's looking for a good hostel to stay. The special nights such as bbq night were a bonus too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Front Office Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Great to know we helped enhance your aussie experience good luck with the rest of your trip .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Only spent one night here but it was a wonderful hostel. Has a very clean environment, comfortable beds, sharing bathrooms (though there were never a problem of dirtiness etc) and a very fast WiFi connection (chargeable). It is also located 2 minutes from Cairns central and offers a lot of activities (sadly only one night so I couldn't take up the offers available)All in all will definitely stay here again if I was in Cairns.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syaz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Front Office Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

only one night ? next time you'll have to stay longer remember book ahead as we fill up fast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on my second trip to Cairns in 2011 to dive the outer Great Barrier Reef and Osprey Reef, Coral Sea on 'M.V. Taka'. My single-bed room was clean and comfortable and at a convenient location across the road from the Cairns Train Station, the major shopping mall in Cairns and a 10-minute walk to the foreshore and main restaurant and pub precinct. The Aussie BBQ night and 'moonlight cinema' night in the courtyard were also fun. I recommend for solo or group travellers on a tight budget.

Room Tip: My ground-floor room next to the courtyard was a bit noisy later in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubicletoReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Front Office Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hi we have seen a lot of solo travellers over the years ,our social get together nights helps you meet other like minded travellers , glad to hear you had returned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hostel for 4 nights with my boyfriend. dreamtime is a great little hostel only 5 minutes walk from the main shopping area. We stayed Monday-Friday and took part in the 'all you can eat' pizza and Aussie BBQ nights, both of which were fantastic, great value and the proceeds go to a good cause. All staff at dreamtime were great, especially em who advised us on which reef trip to go on, which we both really enjoyed. Hostel is very good value for the services it provides and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Hi , i agree Em is great ,she worked for us for 6 months and has just got back from an overseas trip . welcome back Em, glad to hear you enjoyed the social nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Dreamtime -great rooms, friendly staff and the perfect relaxed vibe fit for Cairns. The shared bathrooms were in separate rooms, with plenty of space and while there didn't seem to be that many showers, I never had to wait. Also one of the cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in. Would highly recommend to others and hope to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiecam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Hello great to hear you would recommend us to others Thanks , as our brochure says Unique,Relaxed Homely atmosphere says it all really .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £14 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing