We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in the heart of Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place in the heart of Cairns”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here for a total of three nights and really loved it. The location can't be beat (walking distance to the lagoon, waterfront, night markets, etc), and the staff are excellent (especially Emma :). They were really helpful with deciding which activities to book and booked them for me at a discount as well. I stayed in two different private rooms with shared bathrooms and both were really comfortable and stylish. The whole place is really colourful and also laid back. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi Kristina thanks for the stay glad you enjoyed it and liked the colourful surounds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    187
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
212
269
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here off and on for 8 days. Great place really helpful and friendly staff. Clean hostel and really nice people. The staff helped me plan my whole trip to the gold coast and melbourne. They have something going on every night at the hostel and the wifi prices are pretty cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrstineL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi Christine thanks for the review glad you enjoyed your trip to Cairns hope it all went well around Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

My stay at Dreamtime Travellers rest, was the first on my trip and being in Australia alone I was quite nervous! But the people who worked here were very friendly and welcoming, helping me get my bearings around Cairns, and giving me advice on the best trips to book including the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. The hostel is small and cosy, with the rooms being just about the right size. If you are staying long term, you can take your bed sheets down to reception and they'll replace them with new ones. The kitchen, bathroom and toilets were cleaned daily so they were spotless. There was also a pool for you to cool off in in the hot temperature and humidity of Cairns!!
I would definitely stay at Dreamtime again, and would recommend it to any traveller old or young!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFiedlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi Thanks for your great review glad the staff was able to help you with your tours and made you feel welcome hopefully we see you return one day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in total. Staff were really friendly, hostel was really clean and fun. Not too far from the airport so taxi fare was cheap.
Had a really good time and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi thanks for your review glad you had fun and to know you would definitely recommend us ,safe travels .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in 3 bed dorm. Comfy bed slept well. Kitchen and bathrooms clean. Nice stay. About 10 minute walk to the centre. Near large supermarket and mall. If coming from the airport get the cairnsshuttle bus for only $5 when you select Dreamtime.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hi thanks for your review ,we pride our self on being clean , glad to see you got the $5 discount by booking the airport transfer in advance .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

It's very comfortable hostel. The room is clean, not small and chilled. The kitchen is clean and looks like your house, that makes you feel at home.
Just a short walk to the shopping mall, restaurants and main street.
I reccomend Dreamtime.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thanks Yyumi glad we could make you feel at home see you next time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have just spent three days at this place and it was like a home from home. I was suprised when I checked in and was in a 3 bed dorm with single beds, you don't get this anywhere in Australia. The place has a really laid back feel and the staff are really friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiejane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thanks for your review Dreamtime was originally 3 Queenslander homes and we have joined them together to make one big happy family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing