We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome mood and feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Great place for the price in Cairns.
Close to everywhere(Cairns is just a really small city).
The staff were very helpful and kind. They really helped at any question you needed.
They also do any kind of stuff in the evenings to improve the friendliness between all the guests like dinner, party... But nothing really big... Just to make you feel comfortable.

We felt really good there.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, the place is all right and the staff will help you for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordijordijordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Jordi,
Thanks for your awesome review , glad you enjoyed the activities and that the staff where able to help you . nice photo of the fire show too .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great hostel, was very sad to leave! Staff are beyond helpful and welcoming, and helped us so much, including helping us book all our travel and tours down to Brisbane. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Comfy, clean rooms (no bunk beds!), modern bathrooms and kitchens, pool, DVD nights, pool table, washing facilities, etc. Just over the road from the shopping centre and a short walk through there to the esplanade. The BBQ night was great (even for a veggie like me), followed by the fire poi entertainment.

Lovely relaxed atmosphere and lots of different spaces to chill out including sofas, hammocks. Only thing that could be added would be to have free WiFi.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Madeleine,
thanks for your top review so glad you enjoyed relaxed atmosphere and your stay with us, we try hard to make it as homely as possible ,safe travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The outstanding service was apparent straight after booking, with a confirmation email and instructions on how to book a cheap shuttle landing in my inbox. On arrival it was a time when the reception closes each day for a short period, but I was left details for how to enter the premises and collect my room key - no need to wait around for the staff to return!
My room was spotlessly clean, immaculate, my bed was made ready and the whole hostel had an inviting and homely feel to it.

In total I spent 5 nights, 6 days, at this hostel and I would not have changed a thing. There are activities on offer most nights, Wednesday BBQ is not to be missed (good food!). It was on a Wednesday where I was also participating in a Didgeridoo competition! How I did not win is beyond me!

Between the BBQ, film nights, Pizza nights the hostel offers a great chance to socialise with the other hostel dwellers! I was also fortunate enough to be there for their Christmas Zoo experience, where they brought in some reptiles from a local zoo for people to hold and have photo's with a snake, crocodile, bearded dragon and a turtle! It is the small touches that make the experience all the better, and Dreamtime certainly make sure these are present.

The reception staff could not have been any more helpful if they tried, their knowledge of the local area and different tours is phenomenal, and they can tailor your visit with the day trips for you and book everything on your behalf! All you do is pay. It is very beneficial to have the advice available so you don't spend a lot of money on trips that won't give you the best experiences.

I cannot rate this hostel any higher, out of everywhere I stayed in Australia, this is by far my favourite accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi Daniel ,
wow thanks for the review so glad you enjoyed the service at the hostel , we have been looking after travellers for over 21 years and under stand their needs . happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a deluxe double in December 2013. The hostel in all is a nice and quiet one, the common areas are very clean and nice, the kitchen well equipped, the staff is nice and helpful. The owners even threw a Christmas party, with reptiles from the zoo and a bbq- that was great! The room was clean, though not too much light coming in as the window was quite small, the wifi cost 3 dollars for 2 hours and did not work in the room (although the room was quite far from the reception). Air con cost 1 dollar for 3 hours, but the machine itself was quiet and efficient. The location is good, a 15 min walk form the harbour and lagoon, and right next to the train station and shopping centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Hi Saara o
Thanks for review so glad you enjoyed the tropical Xmas party with crocodile and snakes it was the first time we had tried such a party and from the feed back it was a successful night . we hope
to make it a more regular night in the new year. happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A friendly and clean hostel, with personal decoration, spreading over several small buildings connected with covered yard. We stayed with two teenagers and two adults and all of us liked it a lot. Two kitchens, lots of toilets and bathrooms, a nice common area with hammocks, pool table and swimming pool. Efficient laundry machines and dryers. Located on the opposite side of road of the railway station and a big shopping center, and by walking through the shopping center you are at the edge of the central city area, 10 min away from the beach. If you are not into partying all night, you might not enjoy staying in the actual center, which can be quite noisy, so this location is just perfect. The hostel has it quite lively until 22-23, and thereafter it quiets down quickly, giving a true opportunity to rest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerjaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

HI Merjara
thanks for your review on our hostel we are so glad your family enjoyed their stay with us ,your feed back is important as we like to think we cater for travellers of all ages .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great hostel, friendly service and the place has a homely feel.
As a single female traveler, after midnight it is a bit of a walk home from the bars at the lagoon through some quiet streets but on the plus side it is easy to get some sleep

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1C020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

HI thanks for your review ,we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good sleep we try and make Dreamtime as homely as possible .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Loved the surroundings of hostel and quirkiness or the decor. Stayed in a double room which was clean and tidy. Shared bathrooms also clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Attended Aussie BBQ night which was good fun. About 15 min walk to shops and restaurants and 25 mins to harbour. Good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southampton1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Hi , thanks for your review glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our BBQ night . merry xmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#12 of 83 in Cairns
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Cairns
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £14 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel a small backpackers hostel set between 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing