We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed for 5 nights at Dreamtime. The staff was great especially this one woman, whose name I forgot, who works Reception usually in the afternoon with red hair. She was so knowledgeable and helped me book a tour to Cape Tribulation and the Daintree Rainforest. Chris was also very helpful when I checked in, he gave me a map and told me a shortcut to the city center. Even though the hostel was a bit of a distance from the city center it really only took 10 to 15 minutes to walk to anything. The beds and room were fine, there was no A/C unless you paid for it, but we really didn't need to. The showers had very good water pressure and hot water. There was also washing machines which worked great. The whole atmosphere of Dreamtime was very chill. They had a pretty big kitchen, which was used daily. The outdoor area/community area was large and had activities almost every night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Nikki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Nikki,
Thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel , glad you enjoyed the relaxed chilled atmosphere the girl on reception with red hair is Erin she is has great customer service skills, happy travels .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    187
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
212
270
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our twin room was quite spacious, but it was a bit annoying having to pay for air conditioning (admittedly, only a dollar for three hours), especially as a noise that sounded like other people's air conditioning outside our room kept me awake most of the first night. No breakfast provided either, unlike our hostel in Alice Springs (Annie's Place), and you pay for the use of their computers. The owner and staff at Dreamtime were extremely helpful though, and each Friday night they organise a BBQ and a fire display with the proceeds going to charity. It was a good night when we were there, and a good cause, so hats off to Dreamtime for that. Bring a torch if you arrive late because you have to negotiate a code on a side gate and then find your way through a (darkened) pool side area to reach your room key!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Noeleen
Thanks for your review glad you thought our staff where extremely helpful. as you mentioned all proceeds from our weekly BBQ goes to FHC ,Friends of the Himalayan children a Cairns based charity .Thanks to travellers like yourself Dreamtime pays the annual wages of a school teacher in a remote village in Nepal.

Now your right our rooms are fan cooled and a have optional user paid air con. Our internet is user paid also currently operated by a third party server and we are looking at ways to making this a free service.
There is no free breakfast but you forgot to mention all the free stuff we include like tea and coffee, movie nights ,linen and towels , luggage storage, pool table , bike hire, snorkel gear and drop off to the boats.
you will be pleased to know i have now fitted sensor night lights for late arrivals that turn off and on by movement , thanks again for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Really helpful staff, great rooms and feeling to this place, Off the main drag, but better for it and very easy to find. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Cairns. Chris (?) is particularly helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi the 2 Stumblers ,
wow what a great review best hostel Australia . thanks i will pass on the regards to Chris .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

i stayed at Dreamtime for 4 nights in January 2014. I had huge cockroaches in my room. We have to pay extra for Air conditioning. It's a 10-12 min walk from the main city area. The hotel is quiet and lot of bagpackers.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi siddharth
Thanks for the review , yes the rooms are fan cooled and air con is a optional user paid system $1 for 3 hours ,the reason we have lots for backpackers in our hotel is the fact that we are a backpackers hostel. sorry about the bugs .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here 3 different times while I did different yours and livaboards. This team was amazing. Chris and Erin super helpful in helping me book all my trips. The rooms are really clean and the vibe is very funky and fun. Clean bathrooms and the pool was great. Met some really great fellow travelers here, and was walking distance to town and shopping center. Thank so much for everything!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tabbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Tabbritton,
thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel glad you enjoyed your stay and thought we where a home away from home .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A-grade hospitality from Chris, Erin and team. Genuinely very helpful and accommodating in all regards. Very relaxing stay just opposite the train station. Loved the fireshow and bbq Wednesday night. This created a friendly easy atmosphere for meeting other guys from the world.

Room Tip: The cabin (21) had an outside sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivingDave_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Dave , thanks for your review glad your enjoyed the atmosphere and activities at Dreamtime, i agree the staff do a great job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Too much inserts in the room and on the bed aswell. I've got bitten a lot~ And I booked the airport bus to the airport at 7:30am. They make the wrong booking at 8:00am.
Overall I don't like this hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegoshiyuuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi, Tegoshiyuuya, thanks for your feed back sorry to hear that your airport shuttle was booked for the wrong time and would not stay at our hostel again. it is very unique hostel in the fact that its a very open hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing