We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Dreamtime is a friendly and relaxed hostel just behind the train station.. The social areas are pretty and chilled out. Rooms are clean and airy. The facilities are good and the staff are friendly. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarophion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Scarophion,
Thanks for your review of our Hostel , i'am please to know you thought we where friendly and relaxed it really means a lot .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
There are newer reviews for Dreamtime Travellers Rest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfect location! Clean facilities! Good energy! Nice staff!
Me and my friends had a really good time at this hostel. Is really
close to the beach, and just on the other side of the train station.
They keep everything clean and organised, even with the large
amount of people passing by. And you always feel safe!

The staff is very friendly. In particular Chris. Who helped to find
the proper car for us. And provide us with tents, balls, esqui...
everything we needed. Thanks so much for that!

Really nice place. I totally recommend it! :)

Room Tip: If you want to have a good sleep try to find the room with less beds available.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Sacha
Thanks for your review glad you enjoyed the energy that we create at Dreamtime and thought we where safe . Chris really is a great staff member he will go out of his way to provide a great service,
hope you enjoyed the camping .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Really good overall. Good facilities. Rooms are quiet and clean, environment is lovely. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of activities during the night. I enjoyed the Wednesday BBQ and fireshow in particular :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Chang ,
hey thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel, glad you enjoyed the fire show during your stay and thought the facilities where good see you again sometime .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Great stuff, Very friendly! Great people! Cozy rooms that make you feel like you are home while traveling.
I stayed there for a week and enjoyed every minute!
It's 10 minutes walk from the city center. One minute walk from the train station/ bus station
Fun fun fun
Come!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Anofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Shalom Anofar.
hey thanks for your review …"home while travelling" i like that . we really appreciate your feed back happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed for 5 nights at Dreamtime. The staff was great especially this one woman, whose name I forgot, who works Reception usually in the afternoon with red hair. She was so knowledgeable and helped me book a tour to Cape Tribulation and the Daintree Rainforest. Chris was also very helpful when I checked in, he gave me a map and told me a shortcut to the city center. Even though the hostel was a bit of a distance from the city center it really only took 10 to 15 minutes to walk to anything. The beds and room were fine, there was no A/C unless you paid for it, but we really didn't need to. The showers had very good water pressure and hot water. There was also washing machines which worked great. The whole atmosphere of Dreamtime was very chill. They had a pretty big kitchen, which was used daily. The outdoor area/community area was large and had activities almost every night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8Nikki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Nikki,
Thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel , glad you enjoyed the relaxed chilled atmosphere the girl on reception with red hair is Erin she is has great customer service skills, happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our twin room was quite spacious, but it was a bit annoying having to pay for air conditioning (admittedly, only a dollar for three hours), especially as a noise that sounded like other people's air conditioning outside our room kept me awake most of the first night. No breakfast provided either, unlike our hostel in Alice Springs (Annie's Place), and you pay for the use of their computers. The owner and staff at Dreamtime were extremely helpful though, and each Friday night they organise a BBQ and a fire display with the proceeds going to charity. It was a good night when we were there, and a good cause, so hats off to Dreamtime for that. Bring a torch if you arrive late because you have to negotiate a code on a side gate and then find your way through a (darkened) pool side area to reach your room key!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noeleen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi Noeleen
Thanks for your review glad you thought our staff where extremely helpful. as you mentioned all proceeds from our weekly BBQ goes to FHC ,Friends of the Himalayan children a Cairns based charity .Thanks to travellers like yourself Dreamtime pays the annual wages of a school teacher in a remote village in Nepal.

Now your right our rooms are fan cooled and a have optional user paid air con. Our internet is user paid also currently operated by a third party server and we are looking at ways to making this a free service.
There is no free breakfast but you forgot to mention all the free stuff we include like tea and coffee, movie nights ,linen and towels , luggage storage, pool table , bike hire, snorkel gear and drop off to the boats.
you will be pleased to know i have now fitted sensor night lights for late arrivals that turn off and on by movement , thanks again for your feed back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Really helpful staff, great rooms and feeling to this place, Off the main drag, but better for it and very easy to find. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Cairns. Chris (?) is particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi the 2 Stumblers ,
wow what a great review best hostel Australia . thanks i will pass on the regards to Chris .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £15 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing