We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is simply the best hostel in all of Australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

As the titel says this place in nothing less than amazing. Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a week 6th-13th of april 2014 as a part of a longtime backpack holiday.

The hostel is small with a comfortable atmosphere and is own and driven by Steve and Sally Douglas for about 20 years (as far as I recall). It is located 2 minutes from Coles and not much more from the City center.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were always met with a "Hi, how are you?" in the reception. Furthermore the reception staff can help you with booking trips with a book-in-house discount or bookings for traveling the coast and etc.

We stayed in a budget double room which included a fan and towels. It was very clean and nice and it locked like it had just been painted. Great value for 30 $ per person per night.

There are as far as I know three kitchens and the one we used was a little small but always very clean, in my opinion cleaner than the average hostel kitchen.

The hostel has also plenty of toilets and barhrooms which are also held very clean.

The hostel also arranges various events throughout the week. They arrange: BBQ-night, pizza night, fireshow and movie nights on a big screen in the covered yard between the reception and the accomodation unit. They also have a small swimmingpool and free wifi.

During our stay Cairns was hit by the cyclone Ita which meant that we had to extend our stay due to fligth cancelations. That was not a problem and I think that we even got a free upgrade from the budget double room to the double room. They nevet said anything but our second room was bigger and had a fridge.

To comfort us during the many warnings and the time up to, Steven and Sally hang up posters with their number un case anyone felt uncomfortable and told us about what happened last time a cyclone hit Cairns which eased our minds greatly.

On the day of the cyclone Steven and Sally were aware that many of the guest had extended their stay and therefore might were in lack of food supplies because all stores were closed. So in the morning Steve went out and bougth fresh baked bread from the local bakery and hosted a free morning BBQ with sausages, fried onions and of course the fresh bread. After that Steven put on a film at the reception so we could sit and relax plus we were provided with popcorn.

For dinner Sally had made us pumpkin soup and they took so good care of us. It was like being a part of one big family!

All in all we were sad to leave this fantastic place and we would give this place our best recommendation and we wish Steven and Sally the best luck!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kwesjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi. Thanks for your review cyclones come and go the most important thing is peoples safety Sally and i are travelling South America for three months while Chris our long term manager will be looking after things at least its not cyclone season . Safe travels. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

i booked the budget double room,always can hear the toilet flush sound and shower sound.
and even shower no hot water, they told me because too many customers use,so run out of hot water.
after 9pm,the reception close,no more wifi, and i call them, nobody can solve this problem for me.
even 23:30 someone play billiards ball and make noise. i felt really terrible.
the hostle should care about every customers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiawei6095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Chiawe thanks for your feed back we like to take care of all our customers needs I apologies for the hot water running out the temporary issues has been resolved . As for our free wifi it does have a daily quota that rarely runs out. It resets daily at midnight we hope you find what your looking for . Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We moved to Dreamtime from a different hostel in Cairns that was a little disappointing and were so, so pleased we did!
I honestly love everything about this hostel. It's one of the most unique I've stayed in as it's basically three old houses joined together to make a fab hostel. This means it has so much more character than a lot of others do!
The atmosphere is brilliant as it's only a five minute walk to all of the shops and bars and across the road from a large shopping centre with a food court, cinema etc, but is not situated in the middle of town so you can get some peace and quiet when you need it.
They also do nights such as movie night and BBQ night which helps you meet other people.
We stayed in an 7 bed dorm which was lovely, clean and spacious. Our bunk bed was just behind a little bit of a dividing wall which was great for us, being a couple, as it gave us a little extra privacy.
We were on the upstairs so used the upstairs kitchen which was pretty much always clean.
There's also free wifi, although we did have a few issues with that. If you really need internet they do have computers near reception you can use though. There's also a free pool table which we thought was great because we normally waste so much money on them!
One of the best aspects of this hostel is the staff and their customer service. I had one little issue whilst there and the staff were amazing and so helpful. Everything was resolved quickly so they definitely deserve a special mention for all the fantastic work they do to keep this hostel as nice as it is.
Only small issue we had was that it was quite warm when we stayed and the ceiling fans weren't really powerful enough to make much of a difference, although this could have just been our fan or part of the room.
Over all we had a great time here and would definitely stay again if we head back to Cairns. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizzrezz1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Rizz. Thanks for your great review we are glad you enjoyed our hostel it's important for us the get our customers feed back Hope to see you again some time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed here in the past and have no intentions of staying anywhere else in Cairns. Its located directly across from the major shopping centre and cinemas and is not in the centre of town but only a five minute walk from the action. Where is is situated it is quiet and a great place to hideaway from the classic backpacker lifestyle but still on a backpackers budget. Best backpackers in Cairns by far with the best service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi Amanda ,
Thanks for your great review, you can come back! no seriously it means a lot to us that you think we are one of the best that you have stayed, Happy travels .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the stay. We had a Double room with 2 Single beds but no ensuite however we had a bathroom on the same floor. The room has only the 2 beds, no wardrobe or shelves. If you want to use the AC, you have to pay $1 for 3 hours but the room is definetely cool then.

Good:
The staff, the people who stay there, the cute deco, free tea & coffee, location close to the CBD but not right in it with all the noisy bars, Coles directly opposite.

Bad:
No wardrobes or shelves, the noisy neighbour house. Must be a private hostel or something. They have every night parties with hewvy metal music.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi Sungermany, thanks for your feed back i'll look into some selves for that twin room that you stayed. glad you thought we were a great hostel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is my first time that I would like to write sth for the hostel I have stayed.The atmosphere is very relaxing with very helpful staff,Chris!He helped us to book lots of tours so that we have a very good time in Cairns.I have booked a 7-bedroom with ensuite bathroom which is very clean and tidy,even for the public toilets and bathroom.Outside our room,there is a little common place with cute and sweet decoration which makes me feel so warm.Awesome!

Room Tip: I guess rooms with ensuite bathroom is more suitable for people who has a very high standar don hygi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

HI marc, thanks for your first review , glad you enjoyed the Dreamtime experience and it was worth staying , both our 6 and 7 share bed dorms have ensuite bathrooms , see you next time .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came into cairns to go on a lives board boat, we stayed there 1 night then left for 2 night and then came back for another two stay.

We were in a twins room and our friend in a double. The reception was very friendly and helpful and when he heard that we were going on the live aboard boat next day, he called our dive center and arrange our pick up for us the following morning. He recommended dive shop in town for our friend to hired a underwater camera. ( our friend was after something very fancy) He also show us how to take a short cut across the shopping mall to walk into main streets. We felt very safe there and enjoy the pool table and hammock. They had a library upstairs and I borrow a book to read.

The hostel was clean, towel on the bed for your shower, had power point in the room to charge our phones. Air on was 1$ for 3 hours and we didn't need it, we left the fan on and it was a bit squeaky. Our sheet were clean, so were the bathroom and showers. Bed was fine, not lumpy or well wore. When we stay there the hostel was fully booked out, it didn't feel cramped at all, it's a spacious place, with plenty of toilet and bathroom, even in the morning when everyone was heading out, there were no queues to use the bathroom. Super chill place. We really enjoy our stay, and I would highly recommend Dreamtime for any travellers
who enjoy a quiet super friendly stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrywitfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi Cherry , Thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel and letting us know you enjoyed the experience, glad that you mentioned the Library and book exchange a lot of people miss it , i'll pass on your regards to the staff and look into that squeaky fan . cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.9 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#9 of 84 in Cairns
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 84 in Cairns
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £24 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel a small backpackers hostel set between 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing