We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place with great staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place with great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Clean, big, great wifi (free), helpful staff, walking distance to centre.
The only negative point if I really have to say one are the worn out pots and pans in the kitchen so not the best place to cook yourself.
For sure recommended and I would stay here again when in Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi lucas
thanks for your feed back of Dreamtime in Cairns we how have many new pots and pans. catch ya later safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    184
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
207
265
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My first hostel in Australia & am hoping that all future ones are as fantastic. Great hostel, laid back vibe, friendly & knowledgeable team. Slightly off the main drag, a 10 minute walk to the Esplanade & Lagoon but made for a good nights sleep. Would definitely stay again

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi Jane , Thanks for your review , wow your first hostel in Australia glan you thought we where fantastic ! the dreamtime team Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

A lovely clean and character filled hostel with very friendly staff. We had a double room which was perfectly adequate and also had a fridge and fan. Great food and beers in the green ant down the street! Highly recommended for quieter, chilled out hostel accommodation in Cairns.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi ,
Dara thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel its good to know that you enjoyed the Dreamtime character . safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was the first hostel I'd stayed in in Australia and I would heartily recommend it. Clean, relaxed atmosphere, incredibly helpful and friendly staff who sorted out all the trips/activities I wanted to do, free tea/coffee in morning/evening (during reception hours) and free wifi, although I could never get it to work (I have a Samsung mobile but I think iPhone users had more success). I had an upstairs room (3-bed) which I liked - comfy bed, hooks on back of door, mirror, adequate plug points, otherwise basic but that's what you'd expect for hostel price - and I liked being slightly away from the city centre, as I'm not a party animal. It was a short pleasant walk from the Esplanade, through all the main shopping area, and was just across the road from a large shopping centre with supermarket (open 0800-2100), food outlets, banks and every other convenience. Also very close to station if you fancy the scenic railway to Kuranda (I'd recommend it, with the return journey on Skyrail even more spectacular. Kuranda itself is nothing to write home about - a large collection of touristy market stalls, fun to browse - but I loved the hour-long river trip where I saw more crocs than on Daintree boat trip). There were all sorts of people staying - long- and short-term travellers, older couples, and several international academics attending a conservation conference, eminent scientists in their field - so that made for an interesting environment. The only negative (minimal in comparison to the positives) was the lack of hot water in the nearest shower to my room, but there were plenty of other showers available. If I ever return to Cairns, I'll definitely return to this hostel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 3-bed dorm (Room 22) on the upper level which was spacious and had a verandah just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCSManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi Dreamtime first timer
thanks for your review it really helps other travellers make an informative decision on where to stay. glad you had a good experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

One of the best hostels I have stayed in throughout my stay in Australia. De vibe is real good and its a good place to just hang out and meet people. I stayed in a three bed doorm which was nice, the rooms look nice and the beds are good. The staff is helpful and they make you feel at home. The upstairs kitchen is a nice place to cook your dinner. Next to that you have free WiFi and you can make tea and coffee as much as you want!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimzwet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi Jimzwet,
Thanks for a great review of Dreamtime Hostel sorry its taken us a while to get back to you but its been really busy up here see you again some time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was the first hostel we'd stayed in and Dreamtime was a great hostel to start with, the good reviews lived up to expectations.
We stayed in a double room which was upstairs at the back and we shared bathroom & kitchen facilities which were always very clean and communal areas get cleaned every day. We also had our own fridge! The only downside to our room was the tiniest of ants appeared around sticky drinks & sugar in our room so I would advise to keep most things in the kitchen.
The staff were friendly from arrival and very helpful with information and booking tours. We took part in the Aussie BBQ and quiz night which was a great way to get to know other travellers.
I would recommend this hostel as it has a great atmosphere and there are many chilled out areas too, there were also families staying there with children over short periods of time which shows just how good and friendly this hostel is.
Also there is free wifi and free tea and coffee throughout the day. I can't stop singing this hostel's praises!
We would definitely stay at Dreamtime again if we went back to Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi Laura ,
wow another first timer , thanks for your review of our Hostel glad we lived up to your exceptions see you again safe travels. the dream time team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff were very helpful answering any questions and booking tours. Immediately on arrival I was asked what I wanted to do and Chris took care of it all. A great atmosphere and great accommodations. Great common area to interact with others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevedouglas04, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hi Clyder,
Thanks for your review of Dreamtime Hostel an "Excellent choice" we are glad you think so, Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing