We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great hostel, amazing service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good location, great hostel, amazing service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Dreamtime Hostel is located directly across from the train station and a shopping mall, and is a short walk from the CBD and the waterfront. Good location.

The staff was amazingly friendly and knowledgeable, even addressing us by first name throughout our stay.

The hostel has a great tropical feel - open air common areas and a swimming pool.

The kitchen was efficient if small, but had plenty of shared refrigerator space.

Our room was a private double (bath down the hall). Simple, with a double bed, nightstand, A/C, and a bit of shelving/hanging space. The double rooms are in the back of the complex and were quiet at night.

We were in Cairns for only one night but would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AWeekOrAWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    184
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
29
207
265
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at dreamtime, it was the only hostel where I felt like I was coming home! Good service and right next to a shopping mall! I didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Dreamtime Travellers Rest is a clean, nice hostel and managed with a lot of love. The court is surrounded by tropical plants and it is great to chill out there. The manager is keen to help you to book tours.
So far everything was perfect, kitchen toilets, showers,...

But in front of our window were three extremely loud heat exchangers, you think to be on an airport. We had very bad sleep. I told the manager and he apologized, it is a known problem ant they plan to move them. If this problem is solved, it is a perfect hostel, however the noise was so loud (we are both good sleepers and sleep well in planes, but this was too much) that it is just a no-go. So ask before, if your room is quiet. I hope they fix that problem soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt,Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at this hostel after 3 month travelling through Australia. We saw a lot of hostels and we spent a lot of money on accomodation but nowhere we got such good value for our money. The rooms were clean and lovely decorated. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Chris for helping us finding an accomodation in Perth ;-) We really liked the chill out outdoor area and the kitchen which was clean and where you actually had everything you needed. The hostel is located next to the mall Cairsn central and you can get everywhere without taking a cab and in special cases the staff organises you a transport for free. It might seem really small and boring but you always find very cool people to talk to. It was the cheapest but best hostel on our trip. Don't miss it on your trip to Cairns!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Clean and conveniently located, this is one of the better “youth” hostels we have stayed in. The front desk staff is overall really nice and helpful.

Our room was a private double room, approximately 12 feet long and 10 feet wide. Not much space for two people, but it was definitely livable for four nights. There’s a couple different cooking facilities here, some large and some just a refrigerator and a place to make coffee. Bathrooms and showers are small but private (one person at a time) and for the most part clean. The common areas are nice – and there’s a small pool. Internet is available for purchase ($2 for 30 minutes or up to 5 hours for $10) and you can use one of the 4 computers they have here or your own laptop (wireless).

A couple of problems: the front desk is closed from noon-4 daily, and after 8:00 PM. Our flight arrived around 3:00 and we tried calling for the hostel’s shuttle to come pick us up (as we had arranged to do) but no one answered – in fact, they misdirected the calls to a random woman’s cell phone. So we took the airport shuttle (which took us an hour and a half to get from the airport to the hostel, at most 7 kilometers away) and when we arrived the girl at the front desk said they were expecting us earlier, but laughed and laughed about screwing up the phone service.

Also, it’s really noisy here. People are talking late into the night (loud conversations at midnight or 2 AM are the norm) and in the morning, people are up and about around 6 or 7, and you can hear everything: conversations, people packing, taking showers, making breakfast, etc. The walls and doors are paper thin, so a good bit of advice is to bring some earplugs.

Also, there's no place to hang up anything in the rooms. More specifically, no where to hang your towels to dry after you use the shared bathrooms (which, incidentally, were pretty clean). We actually too the pictures off the wall and used their hooks to hang our wet towels up.

But for $50 US a night for two people, you can’t beat the price and location. Right across the street from the city’s only shopping mall (with 2 groceries stores, a huge food court, and movie theater), you are also maybe a 5-15 minute walk from anywhere you want to be in Cairns. Considering other hotels we looked at in the area were 3 times as expensive, this place is a good deal when on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Nice guesthouse, clean, friendly and surrounded by a tropical garden.
Good food and inexpensive (Australian barbeque on thursday).

Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mcLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at this hostel.
Staff is nice and will help you with all your questions and trips.
Rooms al nice and clean. There is a pool to cool down a bit. Showers and toilets are spacious and very clean.
There's a kitchen to cook your own meal(just cross the street for huge supermarkets, get your ingredients and cook).
Atmosphere is great!

Overall....we had a great stay here! And met some awesome people!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.7 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing