We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and peaceful hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Arequipa, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A quiet and peaceful hostel”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I found Geckos hostel to be not only very different to all the reviews i have seen here, maybe a lot of improvment has been made, but also a quiet, peaceful and secure hostel. The environment is full of all kinds of travelers, the pool, toilets and romms very clean. Sometimes the kitchen seems to be a little full, but still clean after the storm. i did found that it was bigger that other hostels i stayed in. Peter the manager made me feel welcome and went out of his way to make my stay very confortable. No drinking or noise after 10pm and the main gate is closed by 8pm, also notice that reception is closed between 12:30 to 4:30pm.

Room Tip: The rroms at the back seems to be the best if you're traveling with your couple, also the ones o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonathanC366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest!!! Thanks so much for your review, we'll keep on the good work and improving always!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    87
    20
    7
    18
See reviews for
13
81
166
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
breckenridge colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here in April 2008 becuase it had been recommended to me by a friend who had stayed here many times before. I thought that the rooms were a bit clammy and old, but definitely not the worst I had seen on my 10 months of traveling, not by far! I thought it was in a good location, especially as I walked everywhere I went. The facilities were simple but doable for a few days.

The one problem that caused me to say I wouldn't stay here again were the guests! I don't know if the owner lets people just walk in off of the street, but some of the people I met on the back patio in the evening were definitely not fellow travelers! There were several drunk older men wandering around making sexual jokes under their breath, obviously thinking I couldn't hear every word they were saying! I also met another guy who told me he had just got out of prision where he had been for the last 3 years after stabbing a man and then went on to tell me all about his life in some Italian gang and how he was trying to get "straight" now to provide for his 5 children (he was only 23). I'm not trying to be too judgemental of peoples lifestyles but some of the people staying here were just down right scary to a young 19 yr old girl traveling alone. Incidentally, it was the ex con who told me to call him to walk me home at night if I was ever out alone as the area was too dangerous for me to be walking home alone after 6pm! He also told me that raping and muggings were common in the area. Safe to say, I just wouldn't bother going to Cairns again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank breckgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Hey!! This is Mr. Hoare the new owner of the Gecko’s Backpackers Hostel. Just to let you know that since the last 3 months we got in charge of the Gecko's hostel in Cairns with a completely different way on doing things, surly your review sounds very accurate with some of the last owners and management issues by that time, specially in the 2008, so far we have been able to track and get all information regarding the past of the hostel and we are very concern on showing that now, it’s all about good service and safety, we can assure you it’s very different, and even when this comment in particular seems to be related to some “strange” characters, we are very careful now to maintain the hostel as clean, safe and enjoyable as it should be, that’s why will ask you to reconsider the idea of coming back to Cairns, it’s not only a safe and beautiful destination but we would also love to have you back here for free, so you’ll experience a different reality. It would be very appreciated if you can reconsider the valuable review you made and let us have another chance. Thanks so much and we’ll be happy to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I was travelling for 6 months without problems til I arrived at this place. We stayed 4 nights in the Dreamtime Travellers (btw the best hostel in OZ) next door and had to change our hostel because the Dreamtime Travellers was fully booked. A friend and I decided to move into the Geckos. Short way to the Deamtime Hostel and the manager put us in a double room (Room No.3!!!! DANGEROUS!!!) for a very good price (I should say that everyone pays an other price/ It seemed as if they don't have a fixed pricelist). Anyways, the first night was okay and I woke up with few bites in the morning. I thought: No worries, some moskitobites. The second night was HORRIBLE. Woke up in the middle of the night, my arms and legs full with bedbug bites. There must have been hundreds of BB. My last 4 weeks in Australia were horrible. Took pills and had a terrible itchy time. Finally I can say, the Geckos destroyed my fantastic Australia adventure. I didn't say anything to the manager (red the reviews before) and told the staff what happened. Spent my last night on the bench in the Dreamtime Travellers. Wouldn't recommend this place! NEVER, not even for money! I

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ManiacHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Manager at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Hi, just to let you know that we really apriciate your comments about the hostel, We also like to inform that is under new managment and things have changed 360 degrees, guaranted!!, for that reason we invite you anytime to stay with us for free in order to make you feel a different experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Where to begin...this is the wordt hostel I have ever stayed in. The owner is very rude and strange especially after 6pm when he has had his daily portion of weed!! He falls out to people for no reason he has been putting backpackers in a dorm which he knows has bedbugs and when they come to reception the next day, he gets angry at the people for bringing bedbugs to his hostel and kicks them out!. There are a few long term stayers which are very strange and are drunk/stoned most of the time.
The owner can't even be bothered buying new teatowels, or brushes/sponges to do your washing up!! I even threw one of the brushes away in the bin that was so disgusting and the owner took it out and put it back again!!!
Do not stay here, the owner seems nice at first but this is all fake. They offer free internet but there is only 1 computer that is too old and slow, the wifi rarely works and if it does it is to slow to use. The free breakfast is only cereal and very nasty milk!
If the owner would put a bit more effort in his hospitality skill and buy a few new things for the hostel it would improve but he is to stoned to even care and if you catch him on a bad day you better hide before he kicks you out, insults you or does not give your keydeposit back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bloem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Hi there. Just taking time to go way back and really have no excuse not to have replied to your review a long time ago. Perhaps its taken a while to even know about TRIPADVISOR AND RESPONDING TO REVIEWS. To make a long story short - it is at that very time i took over the management of this property and yes i took a while to pick up all the loose ends from tea towels to drunken alchoholics. Now these days this property is the quietest and most secure in all aspects of management. Sorry for your experience and the truth is your review was totally exadurated. Take care from Peter Hoare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Me and my girlfriend arrived in Cairns and couple of ok nights at Calypso hostel but thought we would get a place closer to centre of town. On Bunda Street there are a few close to each other (Geckos, Travellers Oasis and Dreamtime). We chose Geckos as manager offered us a good nightly rate if we stayed a week.

After first night we realised we had made a mistake. Our room was a double room at the back which was actually quite nice. But the communal facilities everywhere were disgusting. The toilets revolting and kitchen worse. The other backpackers seemed ok although not very friendly like you get in some of the bigger Backpacker places.

The wost thing though was the manager, Peter. He seemed ok at first and quite helpful. It was rather amusing at first with his patronising tone and weird staring.... however on first morning we watched him threaten another backpacker for not doing the dishes (even though he had no idea who had not cleaned up). Similar to the review of the guy from San Francisco, he threw the guy out of the hostel for just answering back and at one point we thought he would hit the guy.

When I asked him nicely if he could replace the lightbulbs in the bathroom, he never did. When I asked him if there were anymore teabags, he looked disgusted that I had even suggested that he refill them. We had to get out but he refused to give us any refund for the 6 nights we had paid in advance. On final morning, he came into the kitchen and started slamming around the clean dishes that someone had not returned to the cupboard. HE asked me which ones were mine, I told him they were not our dishes and then he freaked out and started saying thats what everyone says. Then he told me to remove the pan I was about to use to heat up some baked beans as he needed to clean the cooker and sarcastically said "I suggest you use a container to heat them up in the microwave". After staring at me and repeating this 3 times, we replied that we would prefer to wait and use the cooker (no way were we using the microwave - it was grosse).

This was the general way he runs the hostel. He is patronising, tries to be a old fashioned head master and treats the guests as kids.

We went for this hostel as it claimed to be quiet so we thought it would make a change. It also claimed to be Cairn's Friendliest hostel.

I can tell you it is dead for atmosphere, but you can here everything in all the other rooms so not a good nights sleep, it is far from friendly, its dirty and the manager seems to have some kind of breakdown from dealing with backpackers over the years and now treats them all as kids as soon as they enter the place.

Please dont stay here. Place next door looked much nicer. Even Gilligans down the road would probably be a better bet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elmadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Hey!! This is Mr. Hoare the new owner of the Gecko’s Backpackers Hostel. Just to let you know that since the last 3 months we got in charge of the Gecko's hostel in Cairns with a completely different way on doing things, surly your review sounds very accurate with some of the last owners and management issues, so far we have been able to track and get all information regarding the past of the hostel and we are very concern on showing that now, it’s all about good service and safety, we can assure you it’s very different, and even when this comment in particular seems to be related to some “strange” characters that we do think were here, we are very careful now to maintain the hostel as clean, safe and enjoyable as it should be, that’s why will ask you to reconsider the idea of coming back to Cairns, but we would also love to have you back here for free, so you’ll experience a different reality. It would be very appreciated if you can reconsider the valuable review you made and let us have another chance. Thanks so much and we’ll be happy to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed at Geckos in Cairns in June - most enjoyable and very reasonable rates.
Met some great fellow travellers there - checked out some prices for tours and Geckos own travel desk had the lowest prices - cheaper than going direct to the tour operators - most surprising.
I will definitely stay at Geckos on my next trip North.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peejaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Thankyou for your review. We will always strive to rectify and improve our accommodation. Please come again someday. Take care and best regards.
Peter & Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Stayed for one night - never again.
The owner or gentlemen in charge was so rude. Asked whether I could speak English just because I wasn't caucasian (and I do have an Australian accent), and really rude and rough in general when asking questions about general check out etc
Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank imalreadyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Hey!! This is Mr. Hoare the new owner of the Gecko’s Backpackers Hostel. Just to let you know that since the last 3 months we got in charge of the Gecko's hostel in Cairns with a completely different way on doing things, we have Jono as a new manager, a very professional and experience hostel manager in more than 5 countries, surly your review sounds very accurate with some of the last owners and management issues, so far we have been able to track and get all information regarding the past of the hostel and we are very concern on showing that now it’s all about good service and safety, we can assure you it’s very different, and even when this comment in particular seems to be related to some “strange” characters who used to be in charge of the hostel, we are very careful now to maintain the hostel as clean, safe and enjoyable as possible, we would also love to have you back here for free, so you’ll experience a different reality. It would be very appreciated if you can reconsider the valuable review you made at that time and let us have another chance. Thanks so much and we’ll be happy to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#11 of 84 in Cairns
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Property: Gecko's Backpackers
Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing