We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant owner made for unpleasant atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unpleasant owner made for unpleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The owner was unwelcoming and unpleasant. I can't fault the hostel itself, but the owner single handedly emptied the place after he started an argument with 3 guests about the drinking curfew. It's ok to have rules, but going in guns blazing rather than just calmly asking them to drink up is not the way to treat paying guests! After a late check in, we paid our bill in the morning, only to be greeted with "Oh, I was wondering who the hell you were". Myself and my friend checked out ASAP and at least 5 others did the same, we bumped into them all in the same place we moved to. Plenty of other places in the area with a chilled out rather than party vibe if that is what you are after, just don't go to Gecko Backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katie_ellen_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Unpleasant guests that had been asked calmly several times before to respect the 10pm rule of no alchohol is not acceptable. It is infact very rude for other guests trying to sleep while this goes on. You are lieing about me saying who the hell you were, i did not say that to you at all. We are a very quiet hostel that attracts travellers and families , not a party hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    87
    19
    7
    18
See reviews for
13
79
164
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Thanks for a wonderful time! We stayed in a newly renovated twin room with comfortable beds and are very sad that we have to leave. The hostel is very clean and there is a shopping centre nearby. The manager was always really helpful! We can only recommend the hostel!:)
Danke fuer eine schoene zeit. Wir haben in einem frisch renoviertem doppelzimmer mit gemuetlichen betten gewohnt. Das hostel ist sehr sauber und es gibt ein shoppingcenter direkt gegenueber. Der inhaber war immer sehr hilfsbereit. Wir koennen das hostel nur weiterempfehlen!:)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Good day Christina. Thankyou very much for your support. Most of our guests just like to stay longer because of the very comfortable beds we have. Its very satisfying to know you had a great time. All the best Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravenshoe
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

i have been coming to geckos in cairns for the past 15 years and the price is still the same, but their has been great improvements.
i find the owner a very pleasant and easy going person,and the place is very peaceful and quite...very good for the tired traveller. like isaid i have been coming here for twenty years and still enjoy talking to management and also the beautiful people that stay here.. from all corners of the earth.
i will continue to come as long as i am in this part of australia,

darryl

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Darryl. It is always a wonderful feeling to see you come to stay here all the time. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards from Peter&family&crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Checked in for wo days as the hostel I was staying at next door had no more availability. The owner Peter instantly made me think the hostel stood out with his generous offer of supplying me with his wifi code so I could use even the day before I had checked in. Free wifi is a rarity in hostels and having spent a small fortune next door on wifi I was very happy to see this was offered at Geckos, a instant great start. I had no time for tours but had I been able to there was a wealth of information available at the hostel. The common areas were extremely clean, the bathroom has recently been renovated and again was of a very high standard for a hostel. The bathroom was kept clean all day too as the manager seemed to take care of this often. The twin room I had was perfect for a nights rest, clean and practice with rubber bungs in all furniture to keep the noise down against the wooden floors. With the no alcohol after 10pm rule you can get a good nights sleep and I for one loved the queenslander house style and layout, full of character. The manager never seemed to stop working and been in the hospitality industry myself I understand how much effort has to go into running a business and this guy exceeds himself from what I seen in my short stay, I'd of bought him a beer if there was a bar there. Will defo return, great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Howdy Andrew. Thankyou very much for your fantastic review. Generosity and kindness takes us a long way. As you discovered we have all aspects of this place well and truely covered in order for our guests to have a pleasant time. We find our guests really appreciate the free wifi 24 hours and the clean and quiet surroundings. Take care and look forward to seeing you again someday. A big cheers from Peter& crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Had a fantastic stay at geckos. The manager, Peter, was helpful and accommodating. Free wifi, cereal, tea and coffee too. We stayed in a twin room, it was clean, nicely decorated and comfy beds. Would definitely recommend and would come back if staying in cairns again!!
Hayley & Lizzy - England

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Good day Hayley and Lizzy. It was really nice that you lovely girls had a grand stay here. Our refurbished rooms are looking great and very comfortable. It would be nice to see yous again someday.With many thanks Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived late at night and only expected to stay one night, but thanks to Peter for talking us into staying, we were there a week and loved it. We got a nice quiet room to ourselves, stocked the refrigerator with food from the shopping center across the street and ended up getting great deals on tours and the room. Wi-fi worked well. Guests were polite and friendly, location was off the drunken path but still close to town and a stone's throw from the Green Ant, which became a favorite of ours to have a beer. Peter was so accommodating, we had many chats during our stay. The room we got was renovated and very clean, airy and cozy. Renovations to the showers upstairs while we were there, but there were enough available that it wasn't an inconvenience. Peter and his family have done a great job to make this into a welcome guesthouse. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the southeast side and had a window, which was great. Our very first night we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayohat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello John and Mark. It was really nice to meet you guys. I reallly appreciate that you stayed longer. We try our best to make the place as comfortable as possible. Glad you enjoyed the tours and discounts. Yes the rooms are great now with the very comfortable hotel beds.Thankyou very much for the great photos. All the best from Peter&family&crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

On a whole, Gecko's is a very quiet hostel which allow you a good rest at night. The whole hostel had a lovely communal and homey feel to it. Everyone we met there was really nice. The owner Peter is a very friendly man who helped us book some of our activities. We discovered there really wasn't any need to pre-book your tours/activities beforehand because Peter can do that easily for you.

Location wise, it's fantastic because it's right opposite the mall and only a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city area where there's plenty of food options!

However I feel that the bathrooms could be cleaner. To be fair, I've used the bathrooms in the morning when it was freshly cleaned and that was a good experience. However, whenever I came back at night after a long day of activities, I always found the toilets filthy and unpleasant. That and the wifi could be a tad faster too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hi Catherine. Thankyou for your valued feed back. It always helps us a lot. Unfortunitely sometimes the bathrooms may apppear a little out of the usual which is very clean as some guests may leave a mess than usual but rest assured the bathrooms are serviced 3 to 4 times every day. All the best Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#11 of 85 in Cairns
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Property: Gecko's Backpackers
Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing