We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear, nice, perfect stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Ranked #12 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's not a party hostel, and that's why you can sleep in silence. When you're looking for a party, you don't have to go very far. The manager Pete is very nice and helps with every questions. This is the cleanest hostel I've been while travelling, it's cleaned everyday! The kitchen has everything you need. The pool outside is very refreshing in hot days. I loved to stay there and can absolutely recommend everybody to go there!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppppppppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Good day Pia. Very true darling. A great nights sleep and all the help you need is here. Thankyou very much for your review and recommending everyone to come here. Happy and safe travels from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My friend and I stayed in a twin room and it was a very nice 5 nights. But it is really bad news when we arrived cairns with "cyclone" . And we can't do everything!! Just stay in the backpackers or went to coles to buy some supplies .

But thank goodness.... Michael the manager is really ardent , any question can ask him. And he will answer it with patience !

the most important thing is ......the room was super clean!!! better than other backpackers that we have lived

expect the damn cyclone made us can't had sky diving & sailplaning . but we still had a great time on Rafting and great barrier reef :)
if we come to Cairns again , we'll go to Geckos backpackers again!

這間背包客棧 便宜 乾淨 交通方便 服務好 資訊多 非常值得住
還有免費wifi 老闆娘是台灣人 在廚房都能看到台灣的醬油,有點小感動 哈哈哈

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Albert. During cyclone times as you say its a good idea to stay safe indoors. It is very important that we keep the place super clean all the time. Thankyou very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you when you return to Cairns again, the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I really liked this cute little backpackers. Its a bit further back from the centre but its opposite the shopping centre and supermarket which is really good. Its a 10-15 minute walk to the Lagoon which is fine as you can pop in shops along the way. This hostel was really clean and the rooms were spacious. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and each had a single bed to ourself rather than bunk beds and we got a towel to use which was a nice touch. There are fans in the rooms but ours didnt have air con and it can get very hot and humid in wet season. The showers and kitchen were very clean and we saw lots of Gecko's inside, hence the name of the hostel. The guy on reception was very helpful with tour bookings and even gave us some discounts. Compared to other hostels, the Wifi was quite good although a little slower in the evenings when more people were using it.

Room Tip: We had a room by the kitchen, was very quiet and next to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlover117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Sunlover. We try our best to present the place as well as possible. No bunk beds means a more comfortable sleep.Thanks a lot for all the nice things you have mentioned. Happy travelling, the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I Have stayed here a few times in the past 5 years since I left Cairns. It's really good the manager Peter will look after you if you have any concerns, very quite. No trouble, No Alcohol allowed anytime. The price I paid for a week has not gone up in 5 years time since I been coming here. As you may now very close to cairns central less than 100 meters to Coles supermarket where you can buy some food, especial if arrived late. The places is looked after and renovated, bather room clean and painted. It would been better if there additional TV during peak times, if you need to watch something else.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from traffic with are double rooms. BBQ and swimming pool. Rooms got Air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Good day Glenn. Its really great that you always come here on holidays. We try to keep prices down so its affordable. We look forward to seeing you again. Thankyou for your review. Take care and all the best from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a twin room and it was a very nice two nights. Likely because of the no alcohol policy, it was much quieter than another hostel I stayed at just two blocks away a few days before. Friendly staff also. Another bonus is the free pasta, bread and cereal in the food lockers above the sink :) if I return to Cairns I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Kyrie. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday here. The no alcohol policy is the best thing ever.Most of our guests are spending on tours and getting a great rest here. Often we have free food left by guests. With a big thanks from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hostel is clean, is in a good location (lagoon is not far away + shopping center right next to it) and the service is great. We, as backpackers, went there with a lot of bad experiences, so it was very nice to see that the owner put a lot of efford in keeping the kitchen, showers, toilets and rooms clean and tidy. The service was awesome and you just get a very comfortable feeling.
The beds are very comfortable as well!
All in all i really recommend everyone who want to stay in Cairns and is searching for a enjoyable accomodation to have a look at Gecko's.
Thank you very much Peter!

5 of 5 Stars :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishaeova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hi Michael. It was a pleasure to help you. Hope you and the boys are having a nice time travelling down the east coast. Thankyou very much and best regards from the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Geckos is a great, friendly, relaxing and quiet place to stay. It is located in a great part of Cairns. The manager is very helpful and nice to guest. The place is very clean and always in top shape. I would recommend if you are staying in Cairns to stay here. Cheers.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello Drew. Thankyou very much for your review. We constantly ensure the place is clean and comfortable. All the best for you and hope to see you again some day, the caretakers and crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 83 in Cairns
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#10 of 83 in Cairns
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £13 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing