We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and quiet (a rare find in Cairns)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gecko's Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet (a rare find in Cairns)”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I was recently in Cairns, and after having a bad experience of sleepless nights found this awesome quiet backpackers. This is a perfect place for travelers who are active during the day and want a peaceful, clean and extremely friendly atmosphere to come back to. The backpackers is in great condition and is the cleanest of all the backpackers I've stayed at. The beds have linen and really comfy mattresses and even better NO BUNK BEDS!!! Also the staff are really friendly and can help you out with good prices on tours.

The backpackers is about a 10 minute walk from the lagoon and the main shopping centre is just across the road which is really convenient. No alcohol is aloud on the premises which keeps noise levels down. If you do want to pArty and drink you can trot down the road to many neighboring backpackers and have a quiet home to come back to.

If your looking for a good rest after a busy day of missioning
This is the backpackers for you!!!!

(Also very well priced $24)

Room Tip: I stayed in a 4 share room. All beds are floor level (no bunks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teegz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Hi Teegz. Thanks a lot for your wonderful review. All you have mentioned is exactly how it is here. We believe in providing the place as clean, quiet and as comfortable as possible. This way our guests get a great experience and value for their money. We wish you all the best and with kind regards from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    85
    18
    7
    17
See reviews for
13
77
160
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Gecko's Backpacker is a great place to spend time in. The atmosphere is very quiet, the location is very close to the centre of the city and 1 minute walking from a big shopping centre. The owner Peter is very friendly and always available to help. The building has very tidy toilet, shower and kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Good day Francesco. How are you mate? We wish all is going well for you. Its always a pleasure to help and yes your right, we keep the place as clean and quiet as possible. Safe and happy travelling from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fantastic Place to stay! I have stayed here a number of times now in my car and have always been very happy. There are great facilities with good showers and a nice sized kitchen to use. Peter (the owner) has always been very accommodating and will help where he can. There is no drinking in this hostel which means it is a nice relaxing place to stay away from the drunken madness. Great place to stay and great people to meet here, not you typical hostel.

I will be going back again soon!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceMTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good day Lawrence. Its just great how you keep coming back. We keep the place comfortable for everyone. Look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your great review. The caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I chose Gecko's because of it's no alcohol policy which keeps the party crowd away and allows for a great night sleep! But it's also more than that. Peter, the owner, takes great pride in taking care of the place and its guests. It has a very chilled, quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The rooms, common areas and kitchen are kept very clean and there's a beautiful backyard garden with a lovely pool. What more can you ask? I was even upgraded to a double room when I had booked a single! So if you want a nice place to stay in Cairns that is central, quiet, clean and very welcoming, Gecko's the place to go. Thanks for everything Peter! Looking forward to seeing the new ''in'' colours on your website ;-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Sylvain. Its always a pleasure to upgrade guests to a better room when possible as we want to give maximum value for money. Thank you very much for your wonderful review and i look forward to seeing you again someday. All the very best into the future from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon,Uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Geckos has everything you need facilities wise, but what sets it apart is Peter on reception. He realises that backpackers are actually humans and is really considerate and friendly, something I've found lacking in too many hostels. Highly recommended, the best in Cairns.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank go8abagodix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Rachel. Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation. We wish all is going well for you and all the very best from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed in a station wagon out the back ($14 per person)

Facilities were good, clean and well kept. The no drinking rule means the place is quiet so you can relax and work here. 24hr free WiFi. City centre location with walking distance to everywhere. Most importantly, the owner was chilled out, helpful, flexible and over very easy to deal with. Would highly recommended this place for anyone passing through.

Room Tip: Only 3 spots for camper vans available so book as soon as you know your plan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donall_Breen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Donall. Thankyou very much for your review and recommendation. It was a pleasure to help you. Have a great holiday and kind regards from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The place is clean and really comfortable!!its quiet place and the location is perfect!! The staff are nice , there is good facilities and you even get free meal and wii fi!!!
The place is strongly
recommended

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niro123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Good day Niro. Thank you very much for your great reccommendation. Happy travelling and all the best from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.0 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Property: Gecko's Backpackers
Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gecko's Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geckos Backpackers is a magnificent Historical, Heritage building perfectly positioned 1km west of the Cairns City centre. Beautiful Queenslander style building with very interesting architecture, all made of wood. Some rooms have 5 meter ceilings, just amazing how they built these buildings nearly 100 years ago. The property is very spacious with no bunk beds at all, large swimming pool and lush Tropical Gardens. Just across the road is Cairns Central Shopping centre including Coles Supermarket, Train Station, Transnorth bus services to the Tablelands and Premier Bus services to across Australia. Totally very quiet place ideal for those looking for a peaceful stay and also great for families as it is a totally no alcohol place. On site tour desk for all your requirements. Staff are well trained, are very helpful and very friendly. So for your budget holiday we invite you to stay at Geckos Backpackers, Cairns, Queensland, Australia - The Gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and surrounding World Heritage Rainforests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing