We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
300
90
21
10
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
90
21
10
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomfast wifiparty hostelsair conplace to staya great staybooking toursgeckoskitchencolesaustraliafridgelaundryesplanade
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Me and my girlfriend arrived in Cairns and couple of ok nights at Calypso hostel but thought we would get a place closer to centre of town. On Bunda Street there are a few close to each other (Geckos, Travellers Oasis and Dreamtime). We chose Geckos as manager offered us a good nightly rate if we stayed a week.

After first night we realised we had made a mistake. Our room was a double room at the back which was actually quite nice. But the communal facilities everywhere were disgusting. The toilets revolting and kitchen worse. The other backpackers seemed ok although not very friendly like you get in some of the bigger Backpacker places.

The wost thing though was the manager, Peter. He seemed ok at first and quite helpful. It was rather amusing at first with his patronising tone and weird staring.... however on first morning we watched him threaten another backpacker for not doing the dishes (even though he had no idea who had not cleaned up). Similar to the review of the guy from San Francisco, he threw the guy out of the hostel for just answering back and at one point we thought he would hit the guy.

When I asked him nicely if he could replace the lightbulbs in the bathroom, he never did. When I asked him if there were anymore teabags, he looked disgusted that I had even suggested that he refill them. We had to get out but he refused to give us any refund for the 6 nights we had paid in advance. On final morning, he came into the kitchen and started slamming around the clean dishes that someone had not returned to the cupboard. HE asked me which ones were mine, I told him they were not our dishes and then he freaked out and started saying thats what everyone says. Then he told me to remove the pan I was about to use to heat up some baked beans as he needed to clean the cooker and sarcastically said "I suggest you use a container to heat them up in the microwave". After staring at me and repeating this 3 times, we replied that we would prefer to wait and use the cooker (no way were we using the microwave - it was grosse).

This was the general way he runs the hostel. He is patronising, tries to be a old fashioned head master and treats the guests as kids.

We went for this hostel as it claimed to be quiet so we thought it would make a change. It also claimed to be Cairn's Friendliest hostel.

I can tell you it is dead for atmosphere, but you can here everything in all the other rooms so not a good nights sleep, it is far from friendly, its dirty and the manager seems to have some kind of breakdown from dealing with backpackers over the years and now treats them all as kids as soon as they enter the place.

Please dont stay here. Place next door looked much nicer. Even Gilligans down the road would probably be a better bet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elmadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Hey!! This is Mr. Hoare the new owner of the Gecko’s Backpackers Hostel. Just to let you know that since the last 3 months we got in charge of the Gecko's hostel in Cairns with a completely different way on doing things, surly your review sounds very accurate with some of the last owners and management issues, so far we have been able to track and get all information regarding the past of the hostel and we are very concern on showing that now, it’s all about good service and safety, we can assure you it’s very different, and even when this comment in particular seems to be related to some “strange” characters that we do think were here, we are very careful now to maintain the hostel as clean, safe and enjoyable as it should be, that’s why will ask you to reconsider the idea of coming back to Cairns, but we would also love to have you back here for free, so you’ll experience a different reality. It would be very appreciated if you can reconsider the valuable review you made and let us have another chance. Thanks so much and we’ll be happy to hear from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed at Geckos in Cairns in June - most enjoyable and very reasonable rates.
Met some great fellow travellers there - checked out some prices for tours and Geckos own travel desk had the lowest prices - cheaper than going direct to the tour operators - most surprising.
I will definitely stay at Geckos on my next trip North.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peejaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Thankyou for your review. We will always strive to rectify and improve our accommodation. Please come again someday. Take care and best regards.
Peter & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Stayed for one night - never again.
The owner or gentlemen in charge was so rude. Asked whether I could speak English just because I wasn't caucasian (and I do have an Australian accent), and really rude and rough in general when asking questions about general check out etc
Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank imalreadyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Hey!! This is Mr. Hoare the new owner of the Gecko’s Backpackers Hostel. Just to let you know that since the last 3 months we got in charge of the Gecko's hostel in Cairns with a completely different way on doing things, we have Jono as a new manager, a very professional and experience hostel manager in more than 5 countries, surly your review sounds very accurate with some of the last owners and management issues, so far we have been able to track and get all information regarding the past of the hostel and we are very concern on showing that now it’s all about good service and safety, we can assure you it’s very different, and even when this comment in particular seems to be related to some “strange” characters who used to be in charge of the hostel, we are very careful now to maintain the hostel as clean, safe and enjoyable as possible, we would also love to have you back here for free, so you’ll experience a different reality. It would be very appreciated if you can reconsider the valuable review you made at that time and let us have another chance. Thanks so much and we’ll be happy to hear from you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The receptionist acted like I was a naughty school boy, and refused to show me the accomodation before I accepted

Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
4  Thank Flarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

we were staying in few different backpackers before we found this backpacker.
it is pretty easy to find a good place in the CBD if u are a party person. we like drinking but still need a good sleep for traveling. after we've been staying with few place in the town we were so exhausted, we couldn't even sleep.

this little place quiet and we've stayed in the beautiful double room with a reasonable price. peoples are real traveler and nice. u may get a bit bored if u are looking for a big party.

the bathrooms are clean and large but not really enough when the backpacker is full.
and the kitchen is too small (only 4 stoves) but still pretty clean.
the location is alright, just next to the cairns shopping center which is a bit far away from the CBD but u can almost get everything u need in the shopping center.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fion_yi2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geckoshostel, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Thankyou kindly for your great review. We hope to see you again. Take care and all the best.
Regards, Peter & Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews