We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cairns City Backpackers
Ranked #69 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I originaly booked just a couple of nights as wanted to see how the hostel was first. Ended up staying nearly 3weeks. It has a geat gardn'en area with hammocks nezxt to the pool. The cleaners cleaned our room every day and shock horror , the kitchens actually had lots of crockery and cutlery.would loved to have stayed longer but have the travel bug again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I originaly booked just a couple of nights as wanted to see how the hostel was first. Ended up staying nearly 3weeks. It has a geat gardn'en area with hammocks nezxt to the pool. The cleaners cleaned our room every day and shock horror , the kitchens actually had lots of crockery and cutlery.would loved to have stayed longer but have the travel bug again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My boyfriend and i looooved this backpackers. So authentic,so nice to get a real backpackers where you can get to know the other guests and where staff know your name. We were in a budget double, cheap at $40 a night. It was clean and bed was comfy. Wifi was free (necessity nowadays) and they give you good discount on tours. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

So the rooms could be a little bigger I guess but besides that you really can't complain for the price. Especially with free internet (compleetly free, no limit applied). Hostel cat was very popular and very cute. I liked the kitchen upstairs the most as it was the least used. Used their tour booking service to get a discounted reef trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johhny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Overall ok, though the room and toilet/shower needed cleaning! We also had stained sheets! Free Internet was appreciated! Nice receptionist. Would have preferred to have stayed closer to the centre. Overall you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CerysandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Excellent place to stay as for youth, as for adults (as we are) which looking European style sleeping. Staff is very friendly, speak English. Free Wi-Fi in the room, Free Internet access at the common area. Well appointed rooms (I had a single), the staff are brilliant, friendly and ultra helpful. Had a free tour on my first day. Kitchen facilities are excellent, great common area. If it's raining, just borrow an umbrella. Really, you can't go wrong

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were glad we chose this backpackers as it had a real old style backpackers feel about it. It is not one of those massive, newly built places that fits hundreds of people . Sure the buildings were built a while ago and weren't the newest. That was ok with us as it had an authentic backpackers atmosphere about it. You knew you weren't staying in a 500 room hotel where you don't get to meet anyone. We had a double room which was extremely cheap , just $40 a night. I am guessing because it was low season. Room was perfectly adequate and had a decent mattress. Common areas weren't shiny glossy clean, but they were cleaned every day and that was all you could ask really. Staff were nice and it was good that they give you 10% discount on the tours without needing to haggle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
0.2 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.5 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#12 of 82 in Cairns
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caravella Central
Caravella Central
#41 of 82 in Cairns
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#13 of 82 in Cairns
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reef Backpackers
Reef Backpackers
#11 of 14 in Cairns
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Backpackers

Address: 274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £8 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairns City Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cairns City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing