We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Njoy! Travellers Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Njoy! Travellers Resort
Ranked #13 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

After traveling around Australia for 8month out of all the hostels I stayed in N'joy was by far the friendliest and most easy going place to stay. The staff were great and very helpful and the hostel provided everything you need. I have and will recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    106
    51
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
74
121
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fitch144693
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I had a small timetable and large to-do list and Rosie sorted it all out for me when I was out playing in the waterfalls. Staff here are wonderful! The beds are comfy and it's nice that 4 pax max in the dorms. The kitchen is large and functional for many people to use at a time, perfect for hostels. A free shuttle to "downtown" is provided though I never used it because it's only a 10 min walk. Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitch144693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff.
Enough space in the 6 dorm rooms
Sometimes they do bookings with a discount
10 minute walk to the city
Quite place to stay ( except airplane)
Free shutle bus every morning to the city on the oposite of NJoy
Would definitively come back to spend my time there

Room Tip: Ask for room 41 - free wifi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a lovely quiet relaxing place to stay ..very helpful.
surprised to learn of airport shuttle provided and free dinner voucher.
Im not into drinking alcohol or the party scene and found this a very relaxed quiet NJoy-able place to stay. A pleasant 10 min walk to waterfront was just perfect not too close to the action and not too far away!
Will definitely return to enjoy this place again.
Mark

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Definitely an excellent place for those looking for budget backpackers like me. Stayed 4 nights here and has no problem at all. To my surprise, they provide free shuttle to the city (although the location is just 10 min on foot to city) and dinner voucher to their guests. 100% value for money and highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

From what I've seen in Cairns this is your basic hostel where $18 will get you a good size 8 bed dorm. But the beds don't have a private light so you are unable to read. Plenty of washrooms and showers which are a good size with good hot water and good water preassure.

The place is above average clean. The kitchen is next to the reception and awkward to work in for lack of logical organization. A couple of overhead cupboards would easliy resolve this problem. They should really invest in new kitchenware. Only instant coffee and tea is offered. The eating area is 70% outdoors so if it rains everyone huddles around the 6 seat table.

There is a small pool which is hardly used, a pool table and a movie each night. This is an old converted and unremarkable hotel. Nothing much sets this place apart from the others.

That said you are likely to get some sleep and the staff, particularly the young gentleman and Leena are very respectful, pleasant and helpful. They can organize many tours but you would likely save a few dollars in town. Free shuttle to and from the airport and to the waterfront is a available but it only operates from 7am which you should keep in mind when booking return flights, otherwise you'll pay a commercial shuttle $12.

The one down side it's that it's a fair walk to the waterfront, Esplanade and the shopping centre which is the main reason I moved as there isn't much to keep you nearby NJoy.
There is free wifi but computer/internet is expensive and simply unreasonable nowadays.

Careful when hanging your clothes to dry. It seems there is a men's underwear thief, but not to worry too much as he/she returns them next morning.

Room Tip: Be sure to book return flights that depart after 9am to take advantage of the free airport transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hostel itself was nice, clean and had a free wifi and nice common area. Also they gave all visitors coupon for free meal, that could be upgraded for few dollars (e.g. 8$ for steak). But the best at Njoy! hostel was receptionist Alina - nice, friendly and very, very helpful, thank you again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Njoy! Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy! Travellers Resort

Property: Njoy! Travellers Resort
Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy! Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Njoy! Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing