We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, could do with a re-vamp.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Njoy Travellers Resort
Ranked #10 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When we arrived in Cairns we viewed various hostel reviews and consequently booked two nights in Njoy. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful and the downstairs of the hostel is nice and welcoming with a relatively new pool table and a large outdoor seating area and pool.
The WI-FI is free but only around reception, which is a bit of a draw back, as there isn't much indoor seating and normally a lot of people trying to use it at the same time each night.
We were booked in to an 8 bed dorm which wasn't realistically large enough to be an 8 bed room. There's not a whole lot of storage space for your things and the beds are very close together. There is air conditioning which can be nice when it's hot and there's so many of you in a small room.
The bedrooms themselves seem a little run down. They're not awful and we were comfortable enough but the mattresses, (all foam), are old so have sunk a lot in the middle.
The rest of the room was somewhere between dirty and clean.
The bathrooms were kept quite nice and clean though, as was the kitchen area, so that's a plus.
Overall, I think comfort would urge me to stay elsewhere but on atmosphere alone quite a nice hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizzrezz1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for one night during which the hostel staff went the extra mile to help us with what to do with our limited time in Cairns. Free shuttle into town (but it's also really easy to walk - 10 minutes) and from the aiport was really useful, our (private) room was great with aircon and a sink in the room. The kitchen was small so we only really used it for tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubylou51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good value for double room but ved in room number 4 is terrible. very uncomfortable. needs to be replaced. the bed in number 5 was much better. Also when the rain hits the AC unit the sound isvry loud. a cover of some sort would make it better. new pool table is good but new balls would be even better. friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGreene89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on travels up the east coast, and we finished our trip of Australia with a 2 week stay in Njoy. The hostel has an incredibly friendly atmosphere, there is a movie on each night and you get a free meal at a restaurant in town, no complaints. The staff are what really makes this hostel, Martin, the manager, did everything he could to make our stay great and we really appreciated the extra effort he and his staff put in. It was a refreshing change to stay somewhere in Australia where they weren't just after your money! The kitchen is never too busy and there was loads of free bits and pieces hanging about. The pool is great, and the courtyard area is really relaxed. Felt really relaxed and at home in this place, which is a huge difference to the majority of places we stayed in oz. Would recommend to anyone that would listen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukebritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The staff were really great and friendly. They were able to give me a lot of advise and booking tours from the hostel was an added bonus. My room was clean and really good with air-con. The only one thing I would say is the kitchen can get a bit over crowded and has no over! I would stay there again!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank KT1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice, clean and close to the center. Nice staff always ready to help us.
Cheep price. One bad think is for pc use, i mean you can use it but you have to pay to use it. Usually people ask payment to use Internet not the computer.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a nice hostel. Fun, but not a party hostel. Quiet time after 10 made sure I got a good sleep. Rooms have housekeeping come into empty trash, sweep, put fresh linen on the empty beds.
Fresh linen for each person, decent bathroom, bit of a dirty kitchen, but manageable. Shuttle into city centre is handy, but also close enough to walk in 20 minutes or so. Also about 4 blocks from the big shopping mall. So you can pick up groceries.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank maxaroniAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.6 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.5 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Njoy Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy Travellers Resort

Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Njoy Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing