We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hostel, not bad, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Njoy! Travellers Resort
Ranked #11 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic hostel, not bad, not great”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Location: Located along on of the main roads, pretty busy. Walking distance to the nicer parts of the centre, but not in the middle of it. We found the location to be OK, very close to the airport (which is probably why they offer free shuttle)

Rooms: Sort of feels like a prison cell, very basic. The size of the rooms are fine though, not crammed at all. Refrigerator, TV and a sink in the room.

Bathrooms: Shared bathrooms on each floor, they were perfectly OK. Nice hot showers.

Staff: Some were a bit rude, but we didn't really deal with them that much. Not an issue really.

They have a common kitchen area, which was OK, but not the cleanest place. Also, it's pretty much outside, so birds were flying in and out. Also we were bitten by tons of mosquitoes while eating.

Wouldn't mind staying there again for a couple of nights, but if you want a cosy place to hang out I wouldn't choose this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisselSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    108
    52
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
75
124
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I needed a hostel for xmas and new year and Njoy was the cheapest although when I turned up they try to charge me the holiday rates despite booking the room back in July luckily I got it for the original amount.

Rooms are ok, but they are not cleaned regularly - I was there 9 days and the basin area and bin were never emptoed despite other people in the room coming and going. They kept putting only German speaking people in my room which meant I felt pretty alone, I didnt find the guests at the hostel that friendly but that might be Cairns in general (in my opinion the worst city in Australia!)

Kitchen is not very clean and not much space for food especially as people kept sticking all their goon cartons and packs of 24 beer bottles in there!

Staff were ok, Nathan was quite friendly but the girl working there wasnt! The icing on the cake was when they said I could not have my free airport shuttle on news years day (they only told me the day before despite knowing before I arrived on the 23rd) as they would all be hungover so i had to book with another company - I only went back to Njoy for the free shuttle wish I had gone somewhere else - they were running it xmas day so why not new year day!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkospud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

If you are looking for a place to sleep at an affordable price, try NJoy! It's located within walking distance to Cairns Central, car rentals, and so on. If you are there during summer, watch out as the air-cond (in our room) wasn't really working.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yooqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This lovely hostel is brilliant!!!
Its chilled out and mellow vibe had me relaxed as soon as i entered the door.
The staff are amazingly friendly and know so much about where to go and what to do in cairns!!!!
I felt at ease as soon as they helped me book my first tour. I went rafting and it was extreme!!!! Just as Glenn had said on the desk!!!!!!!!
The nightlife is awesome and the staff know how to have a good time and get the guests involved too!!!!!
Wish i could have stayed abit longer!!!!!!
Thanks Peanut and Em!!! You guys rocked!!!!

  • Liked — The rooms were so clean and spacious
  • Disliked — Would have liked to have seen a bar here, but still Njoyed it!!!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nateie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.8 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Njoy! Travellers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Njoy! Travellers Resort

Property: Njoy! Travellers Resort
Address: 141 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Inn The Tropics)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Njoy! Travellers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in Cairns our smiling staff are here to make sure your Australian trip is the best it can be. From free WIFI, free airport pick up and drop-off to shouting you a free dinner in town, our Njoy! Crew are here for you!We also offer a free tour booking service so you can easily explore the worlds oldest rainforest, snorkel the famous Great Barrier Reef or take a bungy jump over cascading waterways. Complimentary tour pick-ups and drop-offs right from our front door make it all too easy.When you want to just chill, Njoy! Is your home-away-from-home. Lounge around our lush lagoon-style pool, refresh with a drink in our palm-fringed sunny outdoor area or take on fellow travelers at a game of pool. We also have a free movie every night!You'll never go hungry with us either, every night we shout you a free discount meal card at the Woolshed pub, a legendary backpacker bar. For do-it-yourself meals, our fully equipped kitchen or outdoor BBQ area are there for you to use.Check in at Njoy! And you'll sleep sound in air-conditioned dorm rooms with 24 hour WiFi, some equipped with your own fridge, sink, and ensuite. We even make your bed for you on your first night! Some of our private ensuite rooms also have their own television and tea and coffee making facilities.Come and Njoy! Cairns brightest backpackers!Live, laugh and relax! NJOY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Njoy! Travellers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing