We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jack Backpackers
Ranked #25 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The jack backpackers is located above a pub - we were a bit worried after reading reviews that we were going to be kept awake all night by loud noise but it couldn't have been further from that! We were located at the far end of the hostel and although we could hear noise it certainly wasn't overpowering and didn't keep us from sleeping or wake us up. The beer garden closes at around 1am so chances are you'll not be going to bed till after that anyway!

The hostel is very centrally located and you are in 5/10 minute walking distance of everything.

Staff are very friendly and accommodating, they gave us advice and directions within the local area and you can also book trips at reception.

Hostel is very clean considering how big it is which we were pleasantly surprised at! You are given a 200mb wifi allowance each day.

The Jack Bar downstairs is a great bar, it is reasonably priced and you can get even discount off food / drinks with a card you are given on check-in. We ate there a couple of times and the food was lovely. You do get free backpacker meals nightly but we chose to sort ourselves out.


The only 2 negative things I would have to say are the room we stayed in literally had a bed and a fridge - would have been great to have a couple of shelves to put food / belongings on. The other thing was that if you wanted to use anything you had to pay a deposit for it at reception. I understand it's a pain when people don't treat property as their own but having to pay $10 deposit for a plate set is a bit ridiculous., especially when they were dirty when we got them! You also have to pay a deposit if you want to use the iron, watch a DVD and the list goes on!

Other than that I have nothing bad to say about the place - I would definitely recommend staying here. It is one of the best hostels we have stayed in!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMW1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    51
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
1
36
86
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

good hostel for the price, i staying here for 5 weeks, free diner, helpful and friendly people, and cleaners came everyday to clean your room, it's also a good location, just a couple of minutes from the city centre, and the lagoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here for the first time back when it was known as Shenanigans and had a great time.
I came back 4 years later and it's now known as The Jack - but i still love it. Nothing too flash, basic but clean and has everything you need. The cleaners came every day to clean the dorms and all the public areas. Great social hostel with a big veranda to meet people during the day and night. They offer free dinner every night with something different every day and a BBQ on Sunday which was great. Also free internet and wifi!! The location is perfect, a really easy walk to the reef fleet terminal and all the shops and pubs. The hostel has a pub attached where they have different events on every night and they also have a tour / info desk on site.
Great value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed in a private room, basic but clean and had a fridge and great air conditioning! very cheap for what you get! the evening meals are tasty and for free you cant complain! the free internet is also a great bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Dirty room and rude guy at the check in. He did not even wanted to explain how things worked in there.

An English lady instead was very helpful and kind.

The room was like not cleaned at all!

Well located and you can buy also trips with 10% discounts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

awesome hostel for meeting people and partying. not good for those wanting a quiet stay unless you get one of the motel rooms. great bar downstairs, with free eveing meal. rooms are all really clean, friendly staff. always stay here when im in cairns.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinfrost85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed in the jack for two months, I heard alot of hype about gilligans being the main place of stay but when I stayed at gilligans for a night to check it out, I immediately went back to the jack as its so friendly. I have been in Australia 10 months and through all my stay this is the most welcoming and well staff hostel yet. You can sit and talk to anyone staff and residents. There is a big balcony which you can drink on until midnight, very good for socialising. There are free meals every evening which save you money and the worry of what to cook after that long day diving the reef or jumping waterfalls! But however if you did want to cook there is a fully equipped kitchen and BBQ area, complete with cooker if you wanted some home comforts.
Everyday you get a ticket for free WiFi, 200mb which is an hour Skype home. There are also free computers in reception for use. The rooms are cleaned daily by lovely housekeepers who are very welcoming and helpful with anything you need to know.
Every night there are events on at the pub downstairs which is also good for getting everyone together and having fun!
i got to know the staff well having staying there for a long time they were always cheerful and include you in anything !

Overall really impressed with this hostel. Big thank you to everyone who worked there, makes all the difference.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumblebum91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#38 of 64 in Cairns
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 84 in Cairns
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jack Backpackers

Property: The Jack Backpackers
Address: 48 Spence St | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jack Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jack Backpackers is newly refurbished pub-style backpacker accommodation. The accommodation has 120 beds, ranging from 8 bed dorms with shared bathrooms, to four bed dorms and private double rooms with ensuite. The massive pub downstairs has three different bars, a beautiful outdoor undercover beer garden, top quality meal deals for the budget traveler, our famous Friends With Benefits VIP guest discount card, SETANTA & FOX sports action shown on our BIG screens daily 7 days a week, pool tables, a CASINO gaming lounge, plus free entertainment & activities 5 nights a week from Wednesday to Sunday, between the hours of 6pm & 12am. Entertainment on offer ranges from some of the best local & national live bands and DJ's, themed parties, crazy games, beer pong, open mic nights, + much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Jack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing