We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect British Style Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jack Backpackers
Ranked #27 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Well i traveled up from melbourne, arrived at jacks and even though i had only stayed there for a week. it was so quick to feel like home. excellent staff at the reception area so helpful with all local information, hot spots attractions and they give you some amazing offers on the local evens and adrenaline deals. sitting next door is there own bar with great music, good beers and great staff to keep you laughing till you crash out later!! The biggest bonus of this hostel is you get a free meal every night which is great for those who want a lie in from the night before and you get a good meal to start you off for the next round. 5/5 for this awesome british themed hostel!

Room Tip: depending on what you want go for a room suited for you, but you will meet people at the bar so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

If u are going to stay at the Jacks, book a room with a shared bathroom because then u are in the main hostel and i guess it will be much more quiet. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm with ensuite and this is located in another building right next to the Bar. It was noisy every evening especially on the weekend. Too bad, because the room was so awesome: Own cupboard, chairs and a big mirror. Especially the bed and the mattress were very neat and clean. Also the free dinner helps a lot as a backpacker.

Room Tip: Book shared bathroom dorms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krissi134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

i stayed at The Jack for five and a half months, and i can honestly say it's the best hostel i have stayed in in Australia! I was in a four bed deluxe room which was always clean (massive thanks to Harriett and the other cleaning ladies!). It's a great base in the city centre, the free wifi works really well and the free evening meals are yummy! There's also plenty going on in the bar (quizzes, beer pong etc) and having a discount card makes it even better! I met some amazing people that i know i will stay in touch with, the big balcony is a fantastic way to meet people, it really is a big family! All the staff are great, really friendly and are always there to help! i couldn't recommend it enough, i haven't got a bad word to say about the place! Thanks for having me and keep doing what you do :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed in this hostel for 3 months and the staff are very friendly. The hostel is quite big but small enough to get to know everyone very well. I liked the balcony were everyone sits to have drink or two! I enjoy it when Hurricane Hariette team cleaners come into the room and blitz the room clean you will have a lovely feeling day after the best wake up ever! thank you to all the staff, hope to see you soon on my return. x

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Jack was the first hostel i stayed in in Australia, I'm travelling on my own but i felt at home here, all the staff were really helpful when choosing what trips to go on etc, if i find myself back this way ill deffintelly stay at the Jack again.............the free meals always good too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Jack is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at, with the really good free wifi that works everywhere, nice free meals, great atmosphere with the huge balcony where you always could find someone to socialize with. It is really easy to make friends whether you chill out in the tv-room, hang out on the balcony or join any of the activities at the bar, thanks to that I have made friends for life! I stayed at The Jack for 3 months and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay at. The hostel has a great location close to the supermarkets, shopping center, bars and the esplanade. It is also one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at, with awsome cleaners, receptionists and bar staff! I would reccomend the jack to everyone, and would never stay at another hostel in Cairns!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ellinor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at The Jack for almost 4 months and it really became my home away from home! The people are amazing and there is plenty of opportunity to socialize at the bar or over on the balcony. The music does get quite loud at the weekend, but you're choosing a hostel above a bar so it's only to be expected. The hostel offers so much for such a good price: free daily wifi, free dinners (which are actually really tasty), fantastic location, amazing and friendly staff and all the rooms and communal areas are always kept clean and tidy thanks to Harriet and her team :)
I can honestly say that I have made life long friends from staying at The Jack and I walked away with so many amazing and happy memories! I recommend it to anyone and everyone I come across that are heading there.
Thank you Jack family :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhonarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#35 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.1 mi away
Caravella Central
Caravella Central
#41 of 82 in Cairns
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jack Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jack Backpackers

Address: 48 Spence St | Corner Sheridan and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Shenannigans)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £14 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jack Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jack Backpackers is newly refurbished pub-style backpacker accommodation. The accommodation has 120 beds, ranging from 8 bed dorms with shared bathrooms, to four bed dorms and private double rooms with ensuite. The massive pub downstairs has three different bars, a beautiful outdoor undercover beer garden, top quality meal deals for the budget traveler, our famous Friends With Benefits VIP guest discount card, SETANTA & FOX sports action shown on our BIG screens daily 7 days a week, pool tables, a CASINO gaming lounge, plus free entertainment & activities 5 nights a week from Wednesday to Sunday, between the hours of 6pm & 12am. Entertainment on offer ranges from some of the best local & national live bands and DJ's, themed parties, crazy games, beer pong, open mic nights, + much more Please be aware that The Jack Backpackers is a licensed venue until 2am. Entertainment can be heard in the beer garden from 6pm until 2am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Jack Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing