We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed at this hostel. We're all over 60 and a little concerned about the noise and activity at hostels. But this stay was great!!!! NICE accommodations with AC available. Appreciated the TV in the room as well as the refrigerator. Very nice, helpful staff. I highly recommend it to older couples. Thank you Tropic Days for all your help in arranging our tours also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicdaysCairns, Manager at Tropic Days Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying guys it was a real pleasure to have you at Tropic days!! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week and thought the staff were lovely. Kerry was extremely helpful and always very polite and friendly. The boys that drive the shuttle are sweeties.

It's quite a way from town which I like as it's quiet and relaxing.

I found the facilities clean and the kitchen easy to cook in.

The one thing I will say is that some of the smaller rooms can get very sticky and towels/clothes not dry due I think to the size. The first room i was in was great, spacious and clean. However the second room was a fair amount smaller and smelt of gone off boys (probably who I was sharing with but it's difficult!)

In all I would definitely recommend staying here! There's a good vibe and great staff

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank BabyBunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Tropic Days is a quaint little hostel tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre. There are hammocks for lazing in and a pool for lounging by, but unfortunately relaxed vibes weren't the only thing permeating through the hostel during my stay. The shared shower stunk of pee and the air in my dorm room had a tangible presence. Overall it wasn't too shabby, but it's not a place I'll be rushing back to any time soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watercurses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a great, relaxed hostel. Perfect for seeing the sites of Cairns and surrounding area.

Very clean, lovely pool area with hammocks. Kitchen looked great and a few places to sit and meet fellow travellers. Also great booking service for tours (great barrier reef and rainforest).

Few things.....if you want a backpackers with a big bar and events on then this isn't for you. It's a quiet out of the centre hostel which was perfect for me. It is a 30min walk to the town centre but they do run free buses most of the day which are great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jez1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel and it was good from the first minute. Pool hammocks great wifi two kitchens and large clean rooms. The staff is very nice and the atmosphere is relaxed. Its a 20minutes walk to the city but there is a shuttlebus to town and back several times

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank helloleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

It was my first hostel in OZ and i absolutly picked the right one! I planned to stay there for 3 nights, left after 7 nights! It really feels like home, the staff and the owners help you with everything!
The hostel itself is located in a wonderful garden full of hammocks, palm trees and tables. The rooms in the 2 houses don't look like typical hostel rooms, it's more like a private house with a great living room, nice kitchen with everything you need and bathrooms. Because of the big tables in the middle of the backyard it's really easy to get to know other travellers and meet new friends. FREE WIFI!
When i returned from a 2 day trip to Cape Tribulation pretty late at night there was no room key for me in the safe, although i talked to the girl at the reception that i will return after my trip and need a room again. I called them and after a few minutes the owners came, organized a bed for me and i didn't had to pay for that night. So great staff and even something is not working out, they find a solution for you!
The only thing you have to deal with: it's pretty far away from the city centre (30min walk one way) and if you miss the shuttle bus, you have to walk all the way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at this little gem for five nights in December .. everything about the place is just near perfect ... the rooms, the cleanliness, the atmosphere but most of all the staff .. Kerry on reception made my trip turn into a piece of cake .. booking things, suggesting things and basically just been a really lovely person. Stay here if you can ... you wont want to leave.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank ClaireFox16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#12 of 83 in Cairns
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Globetrotters International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £12 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing