We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for your kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not just for your kids!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is my second visit here, went back specially as a friend wanted a "back pack hoste experience". (We are both in our 50s and had a great stay especially going into town for our voucher evening meal!) Can't fault it, we had a private double room with fridge and air con, took advantage of the plunge pool and gardens after our flight up from Sydney. Staff as previous, really warm and friendly as were other travellers staying there albeit years younger than us.
BIG PLUS, my partner lost his iphone whilst there, we didn't realise till we reached Port Douglas. We rang them, they couldn't find it in our room, but it was found by someone staying there, handed in, (put down somewhere safe in the garden when he was taking photos). The Receptionist rang us and offered to send it on, as it was we were returning to Cairns for our flight so we picked it up. Appreciate the gesture and obviously the honesty.
Great for the young at heart especially if you like the outdoors, hope to be back again as part of my retirement worldwide walkabout!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnetteYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    84
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
165
177
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were thrilled with Tropic Days - I can't recommend them highly enough! The staff was lovely, helpful, and present. We stayed on two separate occasions in two different rooms and felt comfortable and very pleased with both offerings. This is a well managed and cared for gem of a place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicdaysCairns, Owner at Tropic Days Backpackers, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review, thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Gabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived to Tropic Days at nearly gone midnight due to a late flight from Sydney. The hostel were extremely accommodating and allowed us to self check in with detailed instructions to ensure we could locate our room easily. The staff are absolutely outstanding a huge shout out to the receptionist and driver who took us to town on the shuttle daily (sorry I can't remember your names!) they were so helpful and always smiling! There was a great atmosphere, lovely pool and gorgeous surroundings, it almost felt like a hotel not a hostel! To top it off our double room was perfect and very decently priced, a fridge and TV with great channel options. All in all we loved it here and although the location isn't great as it is far from town the friendly staff and amazing BBQ made up for it!

Room Tip: If you are a couple go for a double room, although not en-suite it is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Tropic days was amazing! It's a small hostel, a short ways from the main area but has free shuttles. Super clean, ABSOLUTELY AMAZING staff and great Monday night BBQ. The atmosphere is very chill with a common area with picnic tables that everyone hangs out at so its very easy to meet people. This is the only place I would recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Giggles123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I'm very picky when it comes to accomodations, so i was a bit hesitant to staying at a hostel but this place was soooo cute, we could hang out all day by the pool and just relax. The people working there are sooo sweet. Would definately recommened tropic days to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josefinlavold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicdaysCairns, Owner at Tropic Days Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we appreciate your kind words and for recommending us to other Trip Advisor readers...take care..Gabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights to dive the reef...It's a dirty backpacker's hostel. If you're cool with that, it's fine, it's got a big kitchen, free internet, and friendly folks. However, it's pay per hour A/C; the shower is located in the same room as the sink for the bathroom, so if someone is in the shower you can only wash your hands in the kitchen; everything needs a good cleaning...Not my idea of a relaxing stay. Also, beware it's a good 20-30 minute walk from town and, although it does have a nice shuttle to downtown, guests who book their snorkel trips through Tropic Days get priority so if the shuttle fills up and you booked elsewhere, you'll be SOL.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the kitchen could be a bit noisy/smelly, didn't look at the others though so I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicdaysCairns, Owner at Tropic Days Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for writing a review on Trip advisor. We are happy you found the staff friendly. We are of course a bit surprised that you have referred to us as being a Dirty Backpackers, I would like to assure all Trip advisor readers we take great pride in Keeping a very clean Hostel, our Bathrooms and kitchens are checked and cleaned through out the day from 7 am until 9.30pm, we will always clear any mess we find. The Local Health inspectors have said on several occasions that they wished more places were as well kept as ours, I personally keep the Gardens well looked after, lots of hammocks and a clean pool. But, we have taken not of your review and we will continue with improving our service.
Our A/C is $1 for 3 hours, we advertise this on all web sites we do not hide that you have to pay.
We are Located a 20 min walk from Downtown in a quiet residential area, we offer 9 Buses per Day a lot of our guest enjoy the walk others love the convenience of the Free Bus, We have always taken people to the Reef fleet terminal, I have had guests asked me to book them a taxi so they could get to there boat but have said no and put them on our bus for free, Tropic Days as been built on love and Passion, I understand we can not make everyone happy but I can assure you we will always try. Sincerely ...Gabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

If you plan to come in Cairns, just stay some nights in this lovely place and will be hard to leave it! Talk with other guests, everybody will say this is the best hostel where they ever been (unbelievable but true!) Excellent staff and service, amazing places to visit around, waking up in the morning and meeting very nice people. Trust me, this is the LIFE..there's no other place...no other time. Thank you very much. Sonny

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Domenico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropicdaysCairns, Owner at Tropic Days Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Sonny, Thanks for you review, we all enjoyed you as well...Take Care....Gabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Property: Tropic Days Backpackers
Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing