We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm. The rooms and hostel were very clean. The kitchen was big enough and well stocked. The staff were very friendly and would always try to help. Take advantage of the BBQ if you get a chance. The food is great and the atmosphere even better. I would say it is not quite as good as it's sister hostel Traveller's Oasis but it is still a great hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandalfthepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I'll get the most annoying thing out of the way first. There is one shower upstairs which is supposed to serve about 12 people, this is so annoying and if you're trying to check out on time or get ready to go out at night it can hold you up an hour.

The place is pretty clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly. It's definitely not in the best location to town but there is a semi frequent shuttle bus, this does finish pretty early so no free rides home after a night out.

Atmosphere was pretty good for a smaller hostel.

The checkout is closed from about 12 to 4 which was also a bit annoying.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved our stay here. On checking in, we were given all the info we needed about cairns and were given a tour of the hostel, which was really helpful. We were introduced to all the staff, so we knew exactly who to speak to when needed. Kathy, the owner is great as is Kerrie on reception who is the best person to help book your tours with. The hostel itself feels like a guest house - the bathrooms and social areas are great, including the lovely outdoor area where you'll probably end up spending all your time! On our first night here, we went to their Monday night bbq, which was brilliant, it was a greAt way to meet everyone at the hostel and also try some typical Aussie meats! There is such a lovely atmosphere here, you have to stay when you visit cairns! The distance from town is not bad at all - about a 20 minute walk, but they have about 10 shuttle bus times throughout the day to get you to the centre and back. They also have a sister hostel called traveller 's oasis.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in this hostel as well as the sister hostel Travellers Oasis! Great atmosphere with the most helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained - you can tell that the owners take great pride in the hostel. They run a fantastic Aussie barbecue with crocodile, kanagroo and emu at the hostel on a Monday which is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijh_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed in this hostel on the basis of good reviews and I was not disappointed.

Pros:
- As most people say, really friendly staff and felt at home with the two Northern Irish staff!
- Kerri is the nicest receptionist you will probably ever have
- Feels just like a house with sofas, desks, pictures on the walls etc.
- Free WiFi was a bonus
- Lots of trees, free BBQ to use, hammocks, pool
- Free shuttle bus to the CBD
- Pretty cheap!

Cons:
- As it is laid out like a house, the noise of other guests is a bit of an issue if you have to go to bed early.
- You have to pay for the air conditioning and you get it for 3 hours, wasn't so much an issue in June but I could imagine this would be in the summer months
- The kitchen's are a little small considering the amount of guests, especially if everyone is cooking at once.

Thanks for the stay guys.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hostel is great! The staff is wonderful and facilities are great! The only negative thing is that it is about a 25-30 min walk to the city center, but they do provide a shuttle van at certain times. I would absolutely stay here again! Book you tours from the tour desk! They are exceptional and can give you discounts!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylort771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a great time at Tropic Days. The staff could not have been more helpful. They really couldn't do enough for us. We loved pizza and beer night! The shuttle bus to the center of Cairns was great as well. It is a great hostel with a really friendly and laid back atmosphere. We didn't really want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#8 of 84 in Cairns
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £15 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropic Days Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing