We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in Cairns”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in a few hostel in Cairns and this one is definitely the best! It has real character and the staff is awesome. Bathroom and kitchen are always clean, I stayed in the campground in the garden and it's very pleasant: there's shade so it doesnt' get too hot in your tent. The BBQ on Monday is great, there's a very good atmosphere and it's a good way to meet new people. I would definitely recomand to stay here if you come to Cairns. Only ONE bad thing: I think the BBQ should be cheaper for those who are vegeterian because there's definitely less to eat, just sayin' :)

Room Tip: If you're staying in the campground try to put your tent far from the pool table, because when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matilda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    83
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
161
168
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You can feel that this hostel was created with love! There is beautiful paintings of animals and plants everywhere, the garden and pool area is well designed with heaps of hammocks, shady but also sunny spots, didgeridoos standing around for you to try, a big exchange book shelf... I camped here for 5nights, after already staying in a dorm for a few nights a month ago... I find the hostel very clean, the staff is very nice and go beyond their duties...

What I loved the most is the free/fresh bread that they put out every few days and there is communal food boxes in all the kitchens, where departing guests leave wonderful things for others...this makes for a beautiful atmosphere.

Last time the Wifi was brilliant, this time a bit busier I guess I had some trouble connecting, but there is also 3 communal PCs to use.

All in all I highly recommend this hostel (also the yummy Aussie BBQ on Monday nights with the entertaining owner!) It's well worth your visit, unless you're here to party (because it's not as central as the other hostels).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotS721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm. The rooms and hostel were very clean. The kitchen was big enough and well stocked. The staff were very friendly and would always try to help. Take advantage of the BBQ if you get a chance. The food is great and the atmosphere even better. I would say it is not quite as good as it's sister hostel Traveller's Oasis but it is still a great hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandalfthepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I'll get the most annoying thing out of the way first. There is one shower upstairs which is supposed to serve about 12 people, this is so annoying and if you're trying to check out on time or get ready to go out at night it can hold you up an hour.

The place is pretty clean and well maintained and the staff were friendly. It's definitely not in the best location to town but there is a semi frequent shuttle bus, this does finish pretty early so no free rides home after a night out.

Atmosphere was pretty good for a smaller hostel.

The checkout is closed from about 12 to 4 which was also a bit annoying.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We loved our stay here. On checking in, we were given all the info we needed about cairns and were given a tour of the hostel, which was really helpful. We were introduced to all the staff, so we knew exactly who to speak to when needed. Kathy, the owner is great as is Kerrie on reception who is the best person to help book your tours with. The hostel itself feels like a guest house - the bathrooms and social areas are great, including the lovely outdoor area where you'll probably end up spending all your time! On our first night here, we went to their Monday night bbq, which was brilliant, it was a greAt way to meet everyone at the hostel and also try some typical Aussie meats! There is such a lovely atmosphere here, you have to stay when you visit cairns! The distance from town is not bad at all - about a 20 minute walk, but they have about 10 shuttle bus times throughout the day to get you to the centre and back. They also have a sister hostel called traveller 's oasis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in this hostel as well as the sister hostel Travellers Oasis! Great atmosphere with the most helpful staff. Very clean and well maintained - you can tell that the owners take great pride in the hostel. They run a fantastic Aussie barbecue with crocodile, kanagroo and emu at the hostel on a Monday which is not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijh_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed in this hostel on the basis of good reviews and I was not disappointed.

Pros:
- As most people say, really friendly staff and felt at home with the two Northern Irish staff!
- Kerri is the nicest receptionist you will probably ever have
- Feels just like a house with sofas, desks, pictures on the walls etc.
- Free WiFi was a bonus
- Lots of trees, free BBQ to use, hammocks, pool
- Free shuttle bus to the CBD
- Pretty cheap!

Cons:
- As it is laid out like a house, the noise of other guests is a bit of an issue if you have to go to bed early.
- You have to pay for the air conditioning and you get it for 3 hours, wasn't so much an issue in June but I could imagine this would be in the summer months
- The kitchen's are a little small considering the amount of guests, especially if everyone is cooking at once.

Thanks for the stay guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Property: Tropic Days Backpackers
Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing