We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Days Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels around”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a double room for a week at tropic days . The room was very comfortable and spacious. One of the best hostels I have stayed in, nice staff, shuttle bus into town , evening activities , good facilities etc . Only thing I can fault would be the inconsistency of the showers but all to do with old plumbing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    83
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
165
176
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Hostel located a bit out of the centre but it's not a problem because of the free shuttle bus regularly, also its not a long walk to town. The staff are friendly and very approachable. The atmosphere of the place is really relaxed with hammocks everywhere to add to the vibe. We stayed in tents which weren't incredibly comfortable, especially if your over average height, I couldn't quite stretch. Overall I throughly enjoyed my time and would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jfmoorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in a double room at Tropic Days during the last leg of our Aussie adventure.
- easy late night check in
- staff were helpful in providing tour info, bookings etc
- the hostel is clean and tidy. Staff touch up the kitchen on several occasions during the day
- there are lots of spots to hang out in the common spaces, both indoors and in the back patio
- Tip: if the downstairs kitchen is busy, head upstairs to the second kitchenette
- Tip: showers can be busy first thing in the morning, so plan accordingly
- Tip: the hostel is about a 35-45 min walk to the main boardwalk and reef terminal. The hostel does provide a regular shuttle to the CBD, but not in the early morning or late at night. You may want to consider other options if you aren't up for an early morning walk to the reef terminal or a stumble home late at night. We didn't mind the walk.

Overall, we were happy with our choice and would recommend Tropic Days to other like minded backpackers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Hostel itself is fab, really pretty paintings and a really good vibe to the place. Staff were excellent with organising trips and so helpful! Rooms were spacious, clean and the beds were so comfy! Only downer was that the kitchen was quite small so you had to wait a bit for food, apart from that so happy I stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed in a few hostel in Cairns and this one is definitely the best! It has real character and the staff is awesome. Bathroom and kitchen are always clean, I stayed in the campground in the garden and it's very pleasant: there's shade so it doesnt' get too hot in your tent. The BBQ on Monday is great, there's a very good atmosphere and it's a good way to meet new people. I would definitely recomand to stay here if you come to Cairns. Only ONE bad thing: I think the BBQ should be cheaper for those who are vegeterian because there's definitely less to eat, just sayin' :)

Room Tip: If you're staying in the campground try to put your tent far from the pool table, because when p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matilda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You can feel that this hostel was created with love! There is beautiful paintings of animals and plants everywhere, the garden and pool area is well designed with heaps of hammocks, shady but also sunny spots, didgeridoos standing around for you to try, a big exchange book shelf... I camped here for 5nights, after already staying in a dorm for a few nights a month ago... I find the hostel very clean, the staff is very nice and go beyond their duties...

What I loved the most is the free/fresh bread that they put out every few days and there is communal food boxes in all the kitchens, where departing guests leave wonderful things for others...this makes for a beautiful atmosphere.

Last time the Wifi was brilliant, this time a bit busier I guess I had some trouble connecting, but there is also 3 communal PCs to use.

All in all I highly recommend this hostel (also the yummy Aussie BBQ on Monday nights with the entertaining owner!) It's well worth your visit, unless you're here to party (because it's not as central as the other hostels).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DotS721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm. The rooms and hostel were very clean. The kitchen was big enough and well stocked. The staff were very friendly and would always try to help. Take advantage of the BBQ if you get a chance. The food is great and the atmosphere even better. I would say it is not quite as good as it's sister hostel Traveller's Oasis but it is still a great hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandalfthepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.9 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Days Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Days Backpackers

Property: Tropic Days Backpackers
Address: 26 - 28 Bunting St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tropic Days Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Days Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing