We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Chalon Motel”
Review of Cairns New Chalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns New Chalon
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Hervey Bay
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New Chalon Motel”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed it.The room was large and comfortable. Serviced daily. Nice pool . Robyn in Reception was exceptionally helpful.Definitely would recommend it.
We had a hire car so being out of Cairns a bit was no problem.

Room Tip: Room 36 is upstairs at end of row and overlooks pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
24
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here for the last two nights of our trip to Far North queensland and although it was definitely a "budget" establishment by comparison to the other places we had stayed earlier on the trip, it served its purpose. It is out of town but having our own transport this did not bother us as we only used it as a base and were out every day. Beds were comfortable, we had two adjoining rooms. Clean and a nice open deck to sit out on overlooking the pool area. The kids swam in the pool both mornings and afternoons and reception staff were very helpful. A great overnighter if you have transport and are heading further up the coast. Could not fault the price. Best value for money in town ! Would def go back, but only for 1-2 nights as a bridging stay if continuing elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I would recommend this motel for a short stay, we stayed for a night while traveling, it is quite far from downtown, but the price was excellent and very confy
The down side for us was the common pool area, maybe for someone it would be nice and a plus, but for us was an unpleaseant, since some people arrived around 1AM and started making a lot of noise on the pool area, jumping, talking loud... and this went over until 3:30AM... so you can imagine that we could not sleep well, since the reception closes at 5:00PM there is not one to secure and manage this situations....

Room Tip: as far as can from the pool area, to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViLaruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

After a disasterous booking at a different budget place, a friend recommended we try the Cairns New Chalon as an alternative, and I'm so glad we did!
As far as Value for Money- this topped it. Simple, exceptionally clean, friendly day staff, a marvelous pool and a great nights sleep, and a buch of shops a short stroll away for groceries and take away... the trip went by so fast. The only downside was that the restaurant was no longer open, so no breakfast or meals available, and it's a bit out of town. We'll definately stay there again though.

Room Tip: Any overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a great check-in process, the lady on the counter was lovely :) The room itself was clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for our needs. The bed was comfy and the linen was of a good grade and quality. For the price this hotel is a great deal. Granted it is a little was out of the main CDB area but we had our own transport so that wasn't an issue for us. Breakfast offered is toast, cereal, tea and coffee, nothing fancy but it's free :) The internet is is also free and reasonably fast, we would be happy to stay there again. The hotel has a wonderful pool and public area, would be great for kids. For the price this hotel cannot be faulted, we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North_AUS_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The room was what you would expect for the price. The desk staff were helpful. We were promised continental breakfast but cereal and toast isn,t my idea of continental breakfast. We used the local bus often but next time would stay closer to town. Also the restaurant wasn,t open at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jooles002009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We booked this hotel through Expedia. The website described it as a clean and nice hotel. That was not true. When we got there our room was filled with lots of small ants, running up and down the walls. The ants were everywhere, also in the bathroom and in the bed. We complained and they showed us several other rooms. All the rooms had the same problem: lots of ants. Outside in the pool and the corridors were very big red ants. It was horrible. The staff was rude. We decided to find another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marianne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.5 mi away
Cairns Southside International
3.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#61 of 64 in Cairns
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
345 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns New Chalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns New Chalon

Property: Cairns New Chalon
Address: 702 Bruce Highway, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best New Chalon)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns New Chalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns New Chalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing