We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, but ok for the price!!”
Review of Cairns New Chalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns New Chalon
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you are looking for bells and whistles and a place within walking distance to the city then this is not the place for you.......but, if you are looking for a cheap, clean, quiet room then this is the place for you. Its a bit tired but we are only sleeping here. There is a pool, although the slide is broken and the gardens need some work. There is a McDonalds and some other takeaway places, as well as an IGA within walking distance from here and also only a 15 minute drive to the city. Good enough for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is far from the esplanade/CBD but if you are looking for a cheap stay option and have a car to get you around, this motel is not too bad.

The rooms are spacious, and the beds are comfortable and clean. The air-conditioning is archaic and takes time to cool the rooms well enough, and smells a little mouldy at times. Housekeeping staff is courteous; we did not interact with any other staff as we checked in late and were busy exploring Cairns and nearby places during the day.

Ample parking space and clean premises. All in all, a decent stay option.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the pool area on the ground floor- one gets disturbed in the morning hours as peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun-kissed_musings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel just outside of Cairns next to the Bruce Highway was near to shops/supermarkets and fastfood and has some more pro's:
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Cheap (55 dollars for a double studio)
- Small kitchen in studio for making breakfast

Con's are the noisy and old airconditioning and the somewhat outdated bed/bathroom..
But the main downside is the atmosphere around the place (unsafe feeling, with drunk people hanging around the highway),

Overall, a lot of bang for your buck, but do not expect to have a nice walk around in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I don't like knocking a small business trying to survive in tough times so let's start with the positives. Incredibly reasonable rate on line and direct, friendly enough staff who moved me into a better room when i was clearly but politely shocked at what I had booked on line at short notice without doing my normal diligent research. A comfortable nights sleep, a functioning and clean bathroom . But this is not and should never ever have been a 4 star rated property. The rooms look like 1970's small town motel rooms.The pool is still in place but the old pool slide, which looks lethal, lies roped off on the sidelines as a monument to the past. No sign of life from the restaurant which looks like it might not have served a meal in ages? Only stay here if you need to be in this area of town, Cairns is a competitive town when it comes to accommodation so if you are not there at a peak time, drive along the Captain Cook Highway near the city and ask along the way rather than ending up this far away from the city area. Very disappointing, their website should be taken down and comments on other booking sites should be replaced by accurate statements of what this really is, a 2- 3 star suburban motel 10 mins drive from the city centre of Cairns. OK, I hated it, but it is far from the worst you will find and if you need cheep accommodation that offers nothing else then stay here, otherwise drive on!

Room Tip: Do not stay on the ground floor if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotelinspector08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed at the Cairns New Chalon for one night. I paid $69 for one nights accommodation and found the Comfort Suite to be suitable for someone who needs a comfortable bed, access to a shower or bath, on site undercover parking, privacy and does not mind driving 7 kms to the CBD.

The bathroom and main room were clean (although there was some mould on the ceiling), the room did not smell, the air conditioner did not emit any odours, the appliances functioned and the linen was fresh.

The kitchenette occupies half of the cupboard space and is concealed by a sliding door. The refrigerator was clean and contained ten single serve UHT milk capsules to accompany the instant coffee (Nescafe Blend 43) and tea bags (Lipton Yellow Label).

I was disappointed with the free internet allocation (150MB) and was gobsmacked by the price for an additional data allocation - prices start at $19.95 for 150Mb.

I have stayed in several Motels and Apartments in Cairns and whilst Cairns New Chalon is affordable I may stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Prepare to use your mobile phone or wireless broadband modem if you need to access the internet - In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DeathBeforeDecaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Lets start..... Location - good. Shops near by, car park on site.
Room. - very poor. We stayed in one room with our teenage daughter. We were given a ground floor unit. The ceiling was totally covered with mould which made the room smell real bad. Bathroom had definitely seen better days. Anyway, we were there for 15 minutes and my husband decided that was not for us. He took off to reception and we were given a first floor unit, which was clean, no mould, seemed to have had some renos done. That was much better. We were there for only one night and that was enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a bit out of the town but there is a bus stop a two minute walk away. The bus goes into Cairns Centre every ten minutes and is really easy to use.
The Motel itself was perfect for us. We got the chill out by the pool and the rooms were a reasonable size. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. The recptionist was brilliant and really helpful and sorted our problems when booking to dive in the Reef. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 mi away
Cairns Southside International
3.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 63 in Cairns
358 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#29 of 63 in Cairns
503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#60 of 63 in Cairns
120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns New Chalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns New Chalon

Address: 702 Bruce Highway, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best New Chalon)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £37 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns New Chalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns New Chalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing