We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property and good value”
Review of Cairns New Chalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns New Chalon
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
460 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Nice property and good value”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The motel is old and worn, but very clean. The staff was most friendly and helpful. They let us leave our car there while we went diving for 5 days for no charge. There is a good pool area that is located in the courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
23
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed as a family of 6, and got 3 inter-connected rooms and a good price. The place is a bit away from the city - so unless you have your own car or transport arranged, it could be tough. There is a McDonalds and a grocery store within walking distance. The rooms are Ok - we had ours in the first floor - no lift. Kitchen in the rooms were well equipped, and they had a separate laundry room too. The corridor is good for relaxing with a coffee or tea. The best part is the ladies at the reception - they were always helpful. Before my travel, I interacted with them on e-mail and got my Reef and Kuranda tours pre-booked with a 5% discount. I realized later that some tour operators give higher discounts. At the time of check-out the receptionist further rounded off our total and gave free bottled water. Felt nice :-)

Room Tip: Probably 1st floor is better. The ground floor may be too close to the plants and insects / night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhaskarNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The staff at this resort are incredibly friendly and helpful. The lady on reception allowed us to swim in the pool for a few hours before check-in as we arrived early and even moved our room up the priority list so it would be cleaned faster and we'd have somewhere to get out of the sun.
Very comfortable beds with linen changed daily.
Internet access was good and the television had plenty of channels.
A little out of the way, but we knew this when we booked, so not a point of complaint as some of the other reviewers has used it as.
We are travellers in Australia and so for the price we paid, this place is an absolute steal. Luxurious and welcoming.
Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very helpful ladies at reception, we arrived early hours of the morning and they had arranged our rooms for us and a place for us to pick up keys as they shut at 7pm. rooms clean and maid restocked tea coffee and made beds and left fresh towels every day. lots of information about activities in the area in reception. the only thing I was a little disappointed with was the pool side had not been cleaned the four days we were there, the pool was nice, but we had a storm one night and there was palm leaves in the pool and around the stairs, that's the only thing I can say was negative. and the cooker top could be replaced. had the best time there in cairns.

Room Tip: all rooms doors faced the pool which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you are looking for bells and whistles and a place within walking distance to the city then this is not the place for you.......but, if you are looking for a cheap, clean, quiet room then this is the place for you. Its a bit tired but we are only sleeping here. There is a pool, although the slide is broken and the gardens need some work. There is a McDonalds and some other takeaway places, as well as an IGA within walking distance from here and also only a 15 minute drive to the city. Good enough for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is far from the esplanade/CBD but if you are looking for a cheap stay option and have a car to get you around, this motel is not too bad.

The rooms are spacious, and the beds are comfortable and clean. The air-conditioning is archaic and takes time to cool the rooms well enough, and smells a little mouldy at times. Housekeeping staff is courteous; we did not interact with any other staff as we checked in late and were busy exploring Cairns and nearby places during the day.

Ample parking space and clean premises. All in all, a decent stay option.

Room Tip: avoid rooms near the pool area on the ground floor- one gets disturbed in the morning hours as peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sun-kissed_musings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This motel just outside of Cairns next to the Bruce Highway was near to shops/supermarkets and fastfood and has some more pro's:
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Cheap (55 dollars for a double studio)
- Small kitchen in studio for making breakfast

Con's are the noisy and old airconditioning and the somewhat outdated bed/bathroom..
But the main downside is the atmosphere around the place (unsafe feeling, with drunk people hanging around the highway),

Overall, a lot of bang for your buck, but do not expect to have a nice walk around in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
3.3 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
465 reviews
3.3 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cairns Southside International
1.7 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
3.2 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 64 in Cairns
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns New Chalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns New Chalon

Property: Cairns New Chalon
Address: 702 Bruce Highway, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best New Chalon)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cairns New Chalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns New Chalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing