We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #20 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The room was good & clean but rather drab, but I guess that's what you get from a hostel. If you are a princess I don't recommend this place, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep this will work just fine. The staff were very helpful recommending different sights/ tours as our Great Barrier Reef trip was cancelled due to the weather.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed in this YHA for 4 nights in January 2014. The location is okay - about 15 mins walk to the front and where the barrier reef boats from, and the rooms although basic, were of a reasonable size.
There is a free pancake breakfast on offer which was well received and a pool in the middle of the grounds. We had a double ensuite room which was quiet, we were away from the main courtyard, so I'm not sure what noise was like for the rooms off there.
The staff helped us book outings and were very friendly. The only slight niggle was the ineffectiveness of the air conditioning, but we did visit in a heat wave!
Overall, a good experience and I would recommend this as a budget choice in Cairns.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lib0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is one of the best hostels i have stayed in. The rooms are clean and fully airconditioned. Its located across the road from a massive shopping centre, which has a big food court (good for a cheap meal) and has a coles supermarket aswell. The Kitchen was one of the cleanest i have seen from a hostel. Kept clean by fellow backpackers and staff. All you saw was the staff cleaning. The reception staff were very helpful and gave you lots of choices for tours too the one that best suited you. We also got a free pancake breakfast every morning we were there. It had a good sized pool which was also very clean. Its about a 15 minute walk to the esplanade and the outdoor lagoon. amazing stay!

Room Tip: Double rooms are small but very clean. Air conditioning is in every room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieran_elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The rooms are basic, but clean. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The location is ideal- close to a great shopping center, and plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. There is secure, enclosed parking as well, which is great to find in the wet season!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeyjojojuniorshabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We really enjoyed this Backpackers. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean, and we could easily walk to all the places we needed to go. Wish we would of had time to swim in the pool! Thanks to the great staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orionsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I have booked a single room in YHA Cairns. As always i can't complain, it was simply/ basic but clean as well located with a shopping mall and facilities close by.
Staff was helpful and gave me good suggestions for tours.
I would stay again cost x benefit worthwhile.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Shali72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was in the Cairns YHA at the begining of december for 3 nights but I extended my stay for 4 nights more because I felt good at this place
The people at the front office was very nice and helpt me when I need it
I organised my 2 months in Australia from Cairns by Sandra, a very nice french girl. She helpt me in the reservation for the next YHA and for booking my trip (magnetic Island, fraser Island,white sundays ...greyhoundbus...)
This YHA is very friendly because the rooms are all over the pool, the kitchen, the bathroom but it s quiet
There is a good service: the kitchen opens at 5.30am, at 7am free pancakes, nice people at the reception until 11pm, shuttle bus for the airport, shopping centre front the reception ...
Rooms are simple but clean
Cairns is a very nice place
thanks for my stay in the Cairns Central YHA

Room Tip: i had a single room so it was more expansive but nice
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 583marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#32 of 64 in Cairns
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#13 of 84 in Cairns
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#28 of 84 in Cairns
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: £30 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central YHA, winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers, is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA travel and tour desk at the hostel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing