We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were always happy to help”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #21 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff were always happy to help”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Super convenient to everything in cairns. Really enjoyed my stay, Staff were super friendly & i got a full refund for having to check out early due to travel commitments highly recommend it, Pool & Jacuzzi were the perfect place to cool down Price is really good aswell.

Room Tip: I booked in to a single room, When i got there they had double booked my room so they upgraded me fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    119
    42
    8
    15
See reviews for
11
58
100
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here - particularly the free breakfast pancakes! :)
Rooms are basic, similar standard across most of the YHA's. Our double room was air conned, clean & basic facilities, all we needed really, we didn't come to stay in the room all day!
Staff were friendly & hard working, really approachable.
Didn't use the pool, hottub or kitchen but they looked great!
Good location, walk to main shops, bars & a big shopping mall opposite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

PROS:
Quiet at night. Staff seemed nice. we only stayed one night so can't say much for the "vibe" of the place. Nice pool and lounge area. Free pancakes in the morning was nice.

CONS:
I stayed at the YHA in Lake Taupo, New Zealand and this was nothing compared to it. YHA Cairns had old furniture and very sad looking rooms (twin private with ensuite). Terrible energy saving white light bulbs made the room look like a prison. The shower head was a disaster. Some updates needed to the rooms to make them more modern and inviting. Cairns should learn from Taupo about kitchen etiquette and organize everything with labels and provide enough supplies. Taupo had literally everything nicely labelled (fresh towels, dirty towels, spices, bags, etc). No one ever left unwashed dishes and their glass fridges were neatly organized. Location was ok, still a 10 min walk to the central parts. I stayed in Caravella other nights that was also not central but it was by the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear CannedFresh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cairns Central YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

Since your feedback I have spoken directly to the hostel manager, who has made me aware that Cairns is in the processs of updating their facilities. The hostel manager was also disappointed to read your feedback regarding the shower heads and has taken this matter up with maintenance to ensure all shower heads are in working order.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed 3 nights. The place is in a very good location to visit Kuranda and the Great Barrier.

The people working there was lovely. Special thanks to Sandra who was always solving our doubts and finding the best options for us, even when the tours were fully booked she was finding great alternatives.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The room was good & clean but rather drab, but I guess that's what you get from a hostel. If you are a princess I don't recommend this place, but if you are just looking for a place to sleep this will work just fine. The staff were very helpful recommending different sights/ tours as our Great Barrier Reef trip was cancelled due to the weather.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed in this YHA for 4 nights in January 2014. The location is okay - about 15 mins walk to the front and where the barrier reef boats from, and the rooms although basic, were of a reasonable size.
There is a free pancake breakfast on offer which was well received and a pool in the middle of the grounds. We had a double ensuite room which was quiet, we were away from the main courtyard, so I'm not sure what noise was like for the rooms off there.
The staff helped us book outings and were very friendly. The only slight niggle was the ineffectiveness of the air conditioning, but we did visit in a heat wave!
Overall, a good experience and I would recommend this as a budget choice in Cairns.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lib0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is one of the best hostels i have stayed in. The rooms are clean and fully airconditioned. Its located across the road from a massive shopping centre, which has a big food court (good for a cheap meal) and has a coles supermarket aswell. The Kitchen was one of the cleanest i have seen from a hostel. Kept clean by fellow backpackers and staff. All you saw was the staff cleaning. The reception staff were very helpful and gave you lots of choices for tours too the one that best suited you. We also got a free pancake breakfast every morning we were there. It had a good sized pool which was also very clean. Its about a 15 minute walk to the esplanade and the outdoor lagoon. amazing stay!

Room Tip: Double rooms are small but very clean. Air conditioning is in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran_elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#44 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.2 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#24 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel

Property: Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel
Address: 20 - 26 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Central YHA, winners of the 2014 Queensland Tourism Award for Best Backpackers, is conveniently located opposite the Cairns Central Shopping Centre. The hostel has multi-share, twin, double and family rooms are available, all with keyless entry, air-conditioning and many with ensuites. Facilities for backpackers include a large outdoor games area, kitchen, laundry, indoor and outdoor dining area, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), TV room with large-screen TV, secure luggage storage and YHA travel and tour desk at the hostel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns Central YHA Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Central Yha Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing