We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing flash but did the trick!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I stayed at Coral Towers with my parents and my 2 young children. We chose Coral Towers due to having 2 bathrooms and being along the esplanade yet for a good price.

We had a great view of the ocean (mud flats at low tide) on the 2nd floor. The apartment was spacious and had plenty of room for a rollaway in the lounge room. It was however fruther along the esplanade than we were expecting - for some reason we thought it would be near Muddies, the cafe/playground/waterpark, but it was further away past the hospital. There were a few restuarants and a bottleshop within short walking distance. The walk however was too far for my elderly parents to Muddies, shops and esplanade so we were glad we had a car. It was almost opposite the "ship" playground which was helpful with the kids. It was also almost at the end of a 2.5km cycle/running track which goes from near the lagoon pool (ie centre of town) which was a lovely walk/run in the mornings or afternoons,

The apartment looks like it is due for a renovation and the aircon in the lounge room was an old loud monster so we used the bedroom ones only. The reception staff there were ever so helpful and accomodating. We did manage to see another apartment which had been renovated and had lovely tiles and furnishings.

Positives: good price, lovely views, great place if you have a car but don't expect anything flashy.

Negatives: our apartment was rather tired looking and not cleaned very well (ie used ear wax thing on the verandha), just under 2.5 kms from the lagoon area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topendgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

My wife and I went to Cairns last month for our 29th wedding anniversary - we lived there about 20 years ago. Coral Towers is just north of the city centre along the Esplanade - easy walk into town. Whilst its an older building it has had extensive refurbishments done and rooms are modern and very spacious. We had a great room on the second top floor overlooking the Cairns Inlet. We could see from town all the way out to Green Island - it was simply superb. Onsite owner managers Tony and Sandy simply cannot do enough for you. Sandy is a Cairns local and can point you in the right direction for tours and attractions - she will even arrange it all for you! Great pool and BBQ area downstairs. Ideal for couples or families. If you are considering going to Cairns I would recommend you give Coral Towers a call before booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmcgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Our family of 5 stayed 5 nights at the Coral Towers (we had planned a 4 night stay, but extended it by a day because it was such a great place). Sandy put us in a very clean, spacious unit with 2 good sized bedrooms and bathrooms, as well as a large living area, kitchen and a convenient washer and dryer. The location is perfect. It is in a quiet area, and the 20 minute walk on the Esplanade to the lively town is beautiful, and so relaxing. There is a nice view from the balcony.

When we arrived, Sandy was at the desk and knew who we were before we told her our name. She sent us to our unit to settle in and then told us to come back to see her if we wanted help planning our excursions. She took a lot of time with us, recommending excursions that our 3 teenagers would enjoy. We arrived in Cairns at the end of the rainy season and she kept us posted on the daily weather forecast so that we could pick the best day for our trip out to the Great Barrier Reef. She picked the perfect day for us to go and we ended up with a beautiful, sunny day. Every time we came and went Sandy or Tony were at the desk to ask us how our day was, help us book our next excursion, or recommend a restaurant to us. They really did make us feel like family. I know that our trip to Cairns would not have been nearly as perfect without the help of Sandy and Tony (and family!). The value at the Coral Towers is excellent, but the managers are priceless!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frqntflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed here for two nights in January 2010, we had our key left for us with details of our room and key as we arrived late on a Sunday, although were phoned promptly by reception to check all was ok, we were upgraded for free to the Pent House appartment on the top floor, this was a two bedroom two bathroom accomodation, with a large kitchen, dining and lounge area. We had fantastic views overlooking the sea and the mountains, although overlooking the sea, please remember there is NO beach in Cairns, only mud flats, but a lovely manmade lagoon so who needs sea! Sandy the owner was very welcoming and spent time with us giving us her local knowledge! There was a CD player, TV in lounge and a TV in master bedroom. The accomodation was nice and we had a great time in Cairns!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelled2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Stayed with 3 children (3,6,9) between Christmas and New Year. Had a 2 bedroom (very large) , two bathroom apartment - perfect for a family .

Washing machine and dryer also in apartment and a full kitchen and big fridge, essential when travelling with young ones.

Pool was "resort" style and was nice and deep.
Check in was easy and the designated undercover park is only metre's away from the lifts - a defininite plus, especially in the wet season!
Accross the road is the Esplanade and a playground. There is a bike track for kids with skateboards/ribsticks - somewhere to expel their excess energy! This part of Cairns is quieter, away from the night clubs and shopping centres, so perfect for a base for a family holiday.
WIll definetly return here in the future when travelling with the kids.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MumTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This was a great place to stay in Cairns - super spacious apartment that fit a family of four perfectly - two bedrooms and a large separate living area with spacious balconies. It was on the Esplanade so the views of the ocean were perfect. It was an easy walk down to the Cairns nightlife but far enough away to be quiet and comfortable. Easy cab ride from the the airport. Terrific value for great location.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DallasDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We traveled to Cairns with four adults and one infant for a few days. We selected this rental apartment based on positive TripAdvisor reviews, and it did not disappoint. Tony and Sandy, the managers, were even more friendly and helpful than we expected. They were full of useful and practical information such as which reef trips were best suited to taking an infant and where we could find a good cheap breakfast. As the units are all individually owned, Sandy actually gave us our choice of two that were available. The one we selected, unit 19, was well maintained with a well-supplied kitchen. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and laundry within. We had excellent ocean views and breezes as well. The price was extremely competitive, especially for the number of people in the unit. We would definitely return here on a future trip!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chakattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
181 The Esplanade
181 The Esplanade
#30 of 64 in Cairns
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#42 of 64 in Cairns
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Towers Holiday Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Towers Holiday Suites

Address: 255 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cairns
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: £102 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Towers Holiday Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on the Esplanade, with views to the Great Barrier Reef and Green Island, only 1.5 Kms to the City Centre - to walk approx. 25Mins or drive/taxi 5 mins. Spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom self contained apartments, all with Ocean Views. Our newly refurbished pool and heated spa/BBQ area is just great, with fantastic views overlooking the Esplanade. FREE undercover secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Towers Holiday Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel Holiday

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing