We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairns Girls Hostel
Ranked #48 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was an incredibly charming, hospitable place, with great hosts and lots of friendly guests. A lot of the "girls" seemed to be staying longer than the people in most hostels. It was not at all fancy, and lacked air conditioning in our spartan (but comfortable) room, but the atmosphere was great. People looked up and said hello as we walked through the maze of rooms searching for, say, a shower. The price was wonderful, but when we came back to Cairns we stayed at a more modern (and less friendly) place. The location was great, right downtown, and we felt secure and cared for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarMountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

There is an abundance of hostels in Cairns that are all within walking distance to the town and each other, and all within a reasonable budget. However, one thing that makes the Cairns Girls Hostel stand out from the others is the fact that this is an all-girls hostel. If you're used to staying in hostels you would know that most hostels are noisy and often full of late-night young party people, which is something that you would not have to face here in the Cairns Girls Hostel.

Getting there is simple enough - just book a ride at the Sun Palm Public Shuttle Bus counter at the Cairns airport for AUD$10 one way (or AUD$10 return ticket) and they'll send you right to the hostel doorstep.

The environment is safe and clean, with three kitchens to cook from; where most tenants would do their own cooking. Kitchens are fully equipped with basic amenities, microwave and oven, plates, cutlery etc. Toilets and showers are separate and clean. One thing that you must keep in mind, though, is that most of the rooms are with ceiling fans, and with the heat in Cairns, the rooms are quite hot. The common room is nice and cool though, only you're not allowed to bring food/drink there.

Rooms are relatively okay and clean by hostel standards. Beds were not exactly comfortable with thin mattresses, but this is the case with most hostels. Sheets are provided.

One complaint that I would have about my stay though, is that I had to wait two hours before I could be assigned to a room, as I made my booking via e-mail communication to Jenny, the owner, who wasn't present at the time I arrived, and I hadn't been assigned a room. You'd best book through Hostelbookers.com or any other online site to be safe. Mario, the co-owner at the time, was quite apologetic about it though, so I wouldn't take it to heart.

The location is quite good, and there is a launderette right next to the hostel entrance. Cairns business district is within walking distance.

Overall, I'd recommend this hostel to females travelling alone, or those looking for a basic place to stay and not for partying, and for its convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Great location , i got up early every morning to go swimming or look around shops i really loved cairns out of all the places in austrilla, it was basic but it was clean and safe the most important things we got food vouchers for the pubs , i did find the ait conditiong bad my only complaint .bus tours picked us up right outside the hotel for rafting, great barrier reef, gus the bus laundrette right beside it food shops down the road loads of food place sto eat good nightlife .lady that owned it was lovely but outr last few days a young girl had bought it of her and she wasnt as nice ....cheap warm showers internet just make sure u have coins for it

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Can nearly only say good things about this hostel!
Very clean, very nice staff, good kitchen, quiet and nice atmosphere. No party hostel, I like that a lot.
Its safe cause you can get a key for a locker near the kitchen from the receptionist,
Only negative points are, there is no free internet, the toiletroom itself doesnt have a sink, other nearby hostels were loud, and the beds were not the most comfortable ones, but still ok. overall I can recommend every girl and woman this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina23983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We really loved staying at the girls hostel in cairns. We had just arrived with the bus at 6am and the let us in the room directly so that we could get some rest. It was so nice cause we just have had some terrible nights on bus and on the boat to whitsundays so it was really nice! It was a little bit more expensive than in the rest of Cairns but still worth it for us. It was like the cleanest hostel we ever stayed in and as it's all girls it's pretty quite.

I would defently stay there next time if it's not with my boyfriend since he's not allowed ;-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gloriaaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Excellent hostel, i stayed here in Jan this year and it is very safe, facilites are good - kept very clean!! Plenty of places to chill out and just a very nice hostel. I would definately reccommend. Excellent location too. For me the only one down side is the lack of power points, the only ones I had were outside the room but this would definately not put me off going back, This was one of the best hostels i stayed in

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carlyh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

When traveling alone in a foreign city as a women it may be scary to stay in a hostel. Once I heard about this all girls hostel I booked it. It was $20 a night for a bed in a six bed room. It was very clean. There were multiple fridges and two kitchens. The owner gets you great deals on excursions if you book through the hostel, and they pick you up right outside! It was very safe and meeting the girls was a lot of fun! Also, a dinner at a local restaurant/bar was included every night. I liked it so much the first time, that I came back for a second visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willtravel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Caravella Central
Caravella Central
#34 of 84 in Cairns
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lazy Duck Hostel
Lazy Duck Hostel
#69 of 84 in Cairns
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
Jazz Cairns Backpackers
#50 of 84 in Cairns
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bohemia Central
Bohemia Central
#63 of 84 in Cairns
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Girls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Girls Hostel

Property: Cairns Girls Hostel
Address: 147 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns Girls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girls Hotel
Girls Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing