We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balinese Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
31
64
23
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
64
23
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchensmall poolair conbasic continental breakfastroom was cleanceiling fanbudget accommodationminute walkcairns esplanadewalking distancelovely poolwi fiwould stay againclose to the airportstayed for nightsnight marketcereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

The rooms were good - good air con, beds comfy etc.

The location is ok. About a 15-20 min walk to the main strip.

Breakfast pretty average. No Vegemite!! Would be nice to also have skim milk (only full cream available) and wholemeal bread (only white available).

Overall we slept pretty well here and had a good stay. You get what you pay for :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A great little find. I was travelling on my own and found this motel very clean, nicely decorated and quiet. It was an extremely hot day when I arrived and they already had the air con going in the room so it was lovely and cool. Breakfast by the pool was a welcome extra. The only very small criticism is that I had to wait 15 minutes for someone to come from their other business to check me in, but the staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auskiwi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The room was fine - it had everything we needed and was clean. The pool was very welcome - the weather was hot.
We decided to go into town for dinner. The directions from reception were so poor that we ended up walking for 40 minutes. If the reception provided a map of the local area as most city hotels do, our experience would have been much better.
Breakfast was very basic and limited - white bread only for toast and sugary cereals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed in a standard double room on the first floor for two nights. We arrived before check-in hours, but we got the room anyway -- very appreciated. The room was nothing exceptional, but completely OK. It seemed clean, the bed was allright and there was a fridge, kettle and TV. There was no insect screen on the window, this would have been nice. It was convenient to have an available guest PC with internet in the common kitchen area. The breakfast which is included is very light indeed (toast and jam, instant coffee), so don't expect a full breakfast. The location is quite allright, a little remote (away from the nightlife of the Esplanade, in other words good for sleeping!), but still you can easily walk down to the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We found the Balinese to be a great place to stay during our trip to Cairns. It's about a 20 minute walk into the city centre, and it's quite a pleasant walk if you go up to the Esplanade. There's places to eat and buy groceries etc close by without having to go all the way into town.

The rooms are clean, a good size, not musty at all, and the air con works a treat. Bed was comfortable. Staff were helpful and will organise a free shuttle to and from the airport for you if you give them advance notice. The breakfast is basic but all you can eat. There is a communal kitchen with cooking utensils, plates, glasses, and cutlery.

There is a small pool but we didn't use it.

I felt that the Balinese was good value for money, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oishee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews