We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Motel”
Review of Balinese Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balinese Motel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Balinese is a simple Motel with clean and decent sized rooms a bit outside the centre of Cairns but in walking distance of most things. The breakfast is rather simple with toast and cereal but given the price for the rooms it is sufficient and there is a kitchen free to use. The staff is very friendly and helpful with all requests and parking is free, late-check-in is possible and there is free internet at a computer in the entrance area, however no free WIFI.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuenterD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel is located one block away from the esplanade and 15 min walk from the centre.
The rooms are clean but they smell like humidity.
The breakfast is really basic.
No free WiFi, bit you can use a PC in the kitchen until 9 pm.
Free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Have previously stayed at the Bay Village. The Balinese Motel offer very good value for money. Clean rooms, maintained daily. Breakfast included plus the facilities to be able to cook all your meals. Why bother with an apartment. Would definitely stay here again. The walk into Cairns provides some exercise!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank GGAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Good room - nice size - clean and well equipped. Tea and coffee making facilities. Fridge, re-stocked daily with milk. Air con was good and the ceiling fan nice and quiet! Not a bad location, but a 20 minute walk to town centre, so a bit out of the way - seemed to be amongst all the medical institutions! As with most of the hotels/motels in Australia it would seem, the wifi charges are extortionate. Good "help yourself" breakfast in the mornings, cereals and toast. Perfectly adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all would definitely recommend this motel as it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazza0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Finished up the Oz leg of our holiday in the Balinese in Cairns. From the beginning to the end of our 6 night stay, we could not complain about a single aspect of this motel.

The entrance is secured with a code. The staff at reception are really kind and helpful with booking tours. They even loaned us an umbrella when it started raining.

The pool area is small but perfect for a dip on a hot day. They have a washing machine, free Internet and a kitchen. The free breakfast is a perfect was to set yourself up for a long day.

The rooms were just lovely, clean, air conditioned and spacious. They were serviced everyday and all toiletries and tea/coffee replaced.

It's a little away from the centre but no more than a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for five nights in June. Our room was clean and well appointed. It was a bit noisy at times as there's a few back-packers places around, but it never really disturbed us.
Only a 15 minute walk from Cairns Esplanade and all the bars & restaurants you could want, the location is excellent. We walked everywhere and felt safe all the time.
Breakfast was included and was very much a serve-yourself option is cereals and toast, juice, tea, coffee. Fine by us as we're not huge breakfast-eaters normally anyway.
The motel has one computer that you can use free untIl 9.00pm. Other than that you'd have to pay their very high wifi charges. This is fast becoming one of my major bug-bears with lower-prices hotels. Luckily, down on the esplanade, there's free community wifi available.
All the staff we met were really helpful and friendly.
Overall this motel is great value for money and I would recommend it without question.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I liked the Reef Palms Motel better for my stay in Cairns. That said, this is still a good value.
Room was good and clean. Easy to get to.

The security (gate for people and car) made it hard to initially check-in. No one present to help (had to call to get in, then call to get room). Room was left open with a flier used to keep it from locking - not too secure when they are using all of the security to get in? The check-in info had the code for the walk-in gate, but not cars - had to call to get that one. Then had to ask how to do check-out. It's just too much work!

The car gate pad is too far forward, so you have to get out each time to key it in, then run back to the car before it starts closing. Just a hassle.

Did a laundry load - had to run to the gas station to get change - another hassle. Washer/dryer worked well.

This is a clean/safe place, just lacks service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#42 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
2 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balinese Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Motel

Address: 215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balinese Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Balinese Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balinese Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing