We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balinese Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balinese Motel
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

Great friendly staff. Excellent price at $100 with bfast with free airport transfers. I was just here for overnight and could not ask for more. Central to Esplanade ...great walkingtrack. oh yeah free internet too!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reichtmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    57
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
60
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to Cairns. The motel offers free airport transfers which was great and quick. We arrived at 9am and they had our room ready for us even though check in was at 11am. Staff were helpful and gave us advice when we first arrived. Room was large with a double and single bed, large bathroom and balcony with chairs. The motel has a pool and kitchen area which can be used until 9pm at night plus free internet which was great. Breakfast is served from 6.30-11am and was included in the price. Cereals, toast, fruit juice enough to keep you full for the morning. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were left. A 2 minute walk to the start of the Esplanade and a further 5-10 minute walk to the best bits of Cairns.

I would highly recommend this for travellers who want a clean room, breakfast/interent and don't mind a 10 minute walk into the city. There is a bus stop nearby but we never used it. We got a taxi a couple of times and only cost $6-8 from center of Cairns.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2007

The Balinese Motel was the worst hotel I stayed in the Cairns area. I asked for a single room and was given a dark, dingy room that was jam packed with two small single beds and an open fold away bed which made the room even more cramped. The bedding had a terrible musty smell, which suggest that they were either not washed or that there was mould in the rooms. I felt so uncomfortable as for sure the roaches were out as soon as the lights were off. The walls were as thin as paper which meant I could hear my neighbour's every word and television. The receptionist was never there and very unfriendly. Thank goodness it was just the one night and I had a 6 am flight to take. I would not recommend it even for an overnight stay.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globetrotterYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne currently
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed here on our mad-dash around the world (1month) and we stayed here for 2 or 3 nights. It seems a shame that the last review of a bad experience would take the shine off staying here - it was FAB!!

Of all the places we stayed (in 4 countries) during our trip this was one of the best. OK so the pool is small (and v.cold!!) but it's really funky, the breakfast isn't huge but it's adaquate and I agree the out-of-hours service could be better. *Note Internet doesn't always work either but plenty of options in Cairns*

However the main draw here for me was the room - enormous for the price, tasteful decor, newly fitted bathroom and cooling floortiles. Yes the aircon was also spectularly efficient - great if you travel in summer. *Also the manager let us keep our bags there for free when out at the GBR - not a huge thing but a nice touch*

I did take some photos but they were deleted (lost my other memory card) so I urge you to prove me right! The location is also good - walking distance to esplanade but far enough away to be quiet.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2005

We loved staying at the Balinese - couldn't drag ourselves away. Sure, it's not perfect, it's only a "motel" and out of hours service is a bit tricky to get but... fabulously quiet aircon, quiet location (10-15mins walk to town), effervescent and helpful owner (Rose), small clean pool, airport pickup, free but limited breakfast, nice rooms, new bathrooms, free internet, kitchen facilities and laundry. I'd stay again if I was back in Cairns, no question.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raskolnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2005

Booked over the internet for a late night arrival one night layover. The staff replied to email inquiries promptly and was quite helpful. They'd left the keys in the electric slot with the A/C on and the door open for me, so that I arrived close to midnight to a comfortable room. Breakfast area was quite relaxing next to the pool. Self-serve including clean-up. Free internet access from the full kitchen. Convenient location, just a few blocks from the Esplanade and shopping areas. Free airport shuttle during daytime hours was very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
0.2 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#29 of 65 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#63 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balinese Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Motel

Property: Balinese Motel
Address: 215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balinese Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Balinese Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balinese Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing