We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place For Families”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We (me, my wife and my 6 year old daughter) were traveling to Cairns with my friend and his family (friend, his wife and his 2 and half year old daughter) and booked a 2 bed room apartment with kitchen and common room. And I am happy to report that we made a good decision.

Bay Village is 15 minute drive from the Cairns airport and hotel arranged a free pickup (and drop) for us.

Staff was very friendly, helpful and cheerful.

Our apartment itself was very well ventilated both (air and light) and very clean. Bed rooms were just perfect -- not too large and not too small. Bathrooms were also clean and perfect and were well stocked with all required toiletries including shaving cream.

Apartment room had a nice kitchen which was well stocked with everything one would need to cook nice breakfast or dinner. In fact we did make bread-omelettes, sandwiches and rice. There was plenty of cutlery and other utensils. Toaster, dishwasher, microwave and electric stove were also very functional.

The common room was large and had nice dinning table and 2 sofas. Apartment also had a nice sit-out.

In short we were very happy with the apartment and utilized all the facilities.

Hotel itself is a good 20 minutes walk from the the Cairns Water Front, Esplanade and with 2 children our walks stretched upto 30 minutes. Looking back we felt that we should have rented a car!

Over all we had a great time at Hotel Bay Village. Just one negative point that I have is: We were offered complimentary break-fast for 2 people, even though we had booked a 2 bed room apartment (which is expected to host 2+2 = 4 people)!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hapuchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    221
    103
    30
    15
See reviews for
108
233
42
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Pros:
Fairly large one bed room ( we were upgraded from the original studio we booked)
kitchenette/Fridge
Large bathroom
pool
Free airport transportation(make sure to book with reception the day before) Both only between 7AM and I believe 7PM.

Cons:
No wifi/broadband. It was very expensive to purchase.
A bit far from the main area. About a 30 minute walk.
No public transportation however this is not the fault of the hotel this is just not really available in Cairns. A shuttle bus would be helpful though.
You have to rent towels to use for their pool.($1)
Restaurants are not too close by. Their onsite Restaurant looks like it'd be nice however, having just been in Bali we were not fans of Balinese food.
No elevator so this may be a problem for those who have trouble climbing stairs
no TV in bedroom. This bothered my husband quite a bit. There was one in the living room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oxjohnnysangelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

great location Family apartments are well looked after,able to cook and have a quite time with the Family

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just needed a clean, comfortable and good value hotel for a couple of nights in Cairns and the Bay Village hit the spot. The room was a great size with a comfortable bed, good bathroom and shower and it was very clean. The hotel is quite relaxing to say that it is in Cairns town - tastefully decorated in a Balinese style with great flora and lighting and a modest swimming pool to have a dip. The staff were dead friendly and nothing was too much trouble from helping with laundry to recommending trips out. A great hotel. Also check out the Balinese restaurant in the hotel - beautiful food and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cprior26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good hotel in a reasonable location. Two streets back from the esplanade but only 10 minute walk to seafront restaurants.

Spacious rooms. Quiet at night.

Nice swimming pool.

Restaurant in only Balinese which is great if this is to your taste but there are no alternatives.

We arrived here on a Sunday and Cairns seems to be very quiet and we even struggled to find somewhere to get breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccrandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at Bay Village on our Winter break with the Family in a two Bedroom Apartment, the accomodation was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The airport pick up was an extra bonus, we loved the service and the friendly staff nothing was a problem for them. It was a perfect location for us not right in the City but about 15 min walk to the Reef Fleet Terminal on the beautiful esplanade.The Front office staff booked all the tours for us and helped us also with any other question we had. Great place to stay and affordable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walter12386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Stayed for two nights on business. Room was quite comfortable and clean, but the Balinese restaurant on site is what really made the stay. Yum!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#16 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Property: Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing