We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A great place to stay if you don't mind a 20 minute stroll into town, which we didn't. Set back on a street parallel to the Esplanade means you're not too far from the town but far enough away for some peace and quiet.

Staff here were absoluely excellent, helpful from the airport pick up, to directions, to restaurant suggestions, towels, change, stamps and post cards, all bases were covered in a happy and friendly manner.

Whilst staying at the hotel there was a lot of rain but all the rooms have a small table and chairs outside them in shelter and it was very pleasant to sit out and read during the heavy downpours and appreciate the sound of the rain whilst remaining perfectly dry :-)

The other times when it was extremely hot and humid the hotel, whilst not huge, was a welcome place to be when returning from a day trip, the water always remaining quite cool and refreshing. In the evenings from around 6.30pm you are greeted by a small flock of birds that dart in and around at tremendous speed and then see the fruit bats taking to flight and heading out to feed all while relaxing in the pool.

The small apartment we had was very pleasant and clean having a seperate livingroom/ kitchenete and bedroom with ensuite. Ceiling fans and two air-conditioner units were very welcome with time of year we were there. Only downside is the noise from the arconditioning units strapped on the outside of the building at night which will affect light sleepers.

Very happy to have stayed here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have washing machines and tumble driers which would be good, the hotel communal machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Big_Stevie_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The room I stayed in was clean and quite spacious. The bathroom was also clean and decent size. I had microwave, mini fridge, kettle, toaster, cutlery, dining table and chairs in my room. The staff were very helpful and nice. They do transfer from/to the airport.

It's about 15-20 mins walk to the marina/city center, but I didnt mind as the weather was nice. They didn't have spa, only a small pool. However I didnt mind because I was always going out sightseeing anyway. Overall I think this hotel is very good for the price. I enjoyed my stay.
PS: they have a very good restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessOfLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A little out of the way from Centre of Cairns however a very pleasant walk along Esplanade. We stayed room only which was very clean,roomy with very nice ensuite facilities.Staff on reception very helpful. Nice pool and restaurant attached to hotel (Balinese) excellent. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stephlou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Bay Village Tropical Retreat twice over the Christmas holidays; in two separate units, one before and one after a four day live aboard scuba trip to the Great Barrier Reef. We wanted space, comfortable beds for our group of 5 adults, good showers and in-unit laundry facilities. We got the space and laundry facilities in their two and three bedroom apartments but not much more.

The beds were terrible, lumpy and cheap. The showers were terrible, dumpy and cheap. Soap and laundry supplies were just so cheap that three of us got skin rashes after washing. The kitchen was sparsely equipped with filthy dishes hurriedly given the once over by recent guests.

We found the location a healthy, tediously long walk from the action in Cairns along the waterfront and the main streets. The walk is notable for its many back packer B&Bs.

Cairns has recently spent a great deal of money rebuilding their waterfront for the locals and the tourist trade. Cairns' Esplanade is among the best public/private infrastructure investments outside of Sydney's Darling Harbour that we have seen anywhere in the world.

The front desk were nice enough but nothing special. The facilities like the pool were pleasant but small.

Some of the rave reviews posted to this site are not to be believed given our experience.

Room Tip: The apartments are across the street from the main hotel. So if you want to be part of the "tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The resort was excellent! The room was very spacy which was really nice, we even got upgraded because we asked for twn beds and the twin rooms were occupied. The breakfast was very good, much netter than in other similar hotels during our stay in Australia. The staff was very helpful and fluent in several languages. Hotel is located a bit farer from center but its a walking distance and a nice walk. And we even try the restaurant, the prices were slightly higher but the food was nice. Very spicy though:)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed four day in the Bay Village and we really enjoyed and felt comfortable there. The rooms were generous and very clean. All of the reception staff were very kind and helped us out finding the right tours. They have a very personalised and familiar service. The balinese restaurant next door is prize-winning for several years. We would everytime come back and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I stayed with our baby at the Bay Village Tropical Retreat for five days in summer 2011 after having travelled from Darwin to Alice Springs in a campervan. After three weeks in a campervan, the hotel was a real treat for us. The room had plenty of space. They actually gave us a free upgrade so that we had an additional room to use, which was excellent.

The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful and we enjoyed the buffet-style breakfast in the mornings. The pool was icecold though. I guess because it was winter and Australians do not seem to heat their pools, but that was the only downside as the pool area was very inviting.

Dinner at the Balinese restaurant in the hotel was very special as well. All in all, I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. It would be my first choice if I went to Cairns again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sanni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#17 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 63 in Cairns
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Village Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Village Tropical Retreat

Address: Cnr Lake & Gatton Sts, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Village Tropical Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style hotel with a Balinese theme, nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Centrally located with a short stroll to the Cairns esplanade. Guests will experience warm hospitality, with personal, friendly and attentive service. An onsite award winning licensed Balinese restaurant offering authentic Balinese cuisine with a tropical ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Village Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Hotel Cairns
Bay Village Tropical Retreat Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing